Stress (mis)management

Yesterday started off great! I have had a lot on my mind this week, so I’ve been somewhat distracted to say the least. But I wasn’t letting it get the better of me.

Breakfast – Banana-soymilk-chocolate instant breakfast smoothie; scrambled egg in a pita pocket.

Mid-morning – Decaf coffee with Silk creamer (not pictured); Kashi pumpkin spice flax bar, which totally held me over through the morning and a walk/run and a yoga class!

Took it easy on the walk-run, alternating 1-2 minutes of running with 2-3 minutes of walking. Worked up a sweat but didn’t wear myself out. Yoga was great, as always and I love my instructor. We did a chair-supported shoulder stand today!

Lunch – veggie burger on English muffin with cheddar veggie cheese and ketchup; V8 juice; mixed veggies (raw); hummus; raisins.

Very late afternoon snack: soy yogurt with Kashi Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax cereal (wow that was a mouthful. Seriously one of the best snacks ever!

This snack held me over so well that when we went out to eat for a family birthday, I still wasn’t hungry! I ordered a bowl of beef vegetable soup, which I eventually ate. It was a weird feeling! I think it’s stress…

When I got home, I felt a little hunger, so I ate some chocolate graham goldfish, always a nice treat or snack :)

I headed upstairs for the night with a cup of ecinacea tea with a splash of soymilk and honey. I was ready to relax, unwind and hit the hay….or so I thought….

I COULDN’T SLEEP! My mind was on overdrive as soon as I laid down. I have been trying to figure out what I want my next career to be (or my first really, I have just a job now) and it has been taking it’s toll I guess. I want to be a trainer or a nutritionist, or both, or perhaps something else, I don’t know. And I am being flooded with information about certifications, degrees, etc. I am overwhelmed at the moment! But it’s also exciting to think about…just not when it starts interrupting your sleep!

I finally got up at midnight because my stomach felt like it was eating itself (ew) and I made 2 Gingerbread Pop Tarts (the last two, thank goodness!) and ate about 2 tbsp of peanut butter out of the jar. I also watched the latest episode of 90210, I needed some mindless entertainment.

I think that helped because I went to bed and slept the rest of the night, just a shorter time than I would have normally. I feel better today but yesterday was definitely tough.

Note: I only ate because I really felt hungry. I was really stressed too, which can lead to emotional eating – especially from me, but I was able to fight it until I started to feel physically sick.

Now, once I started eating something, my emotions did take over a little bit (peanut butter, anyone?). But I re-gained control and took myself to bed :)

Hope everyone had a good week and enjoy your weekend!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 26, 2008, in Breakfast, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, rest, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Simple and Divine

    WOW! Chocolate Goldfish??? Who knew?! Never seen those before! :)

    And that was some P.R.I.M.E. intuitive eating, my dear! Way to be :) You're a FABU example for all of us bloggers! Have the best Friday E.V.A.! XO! <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

