Blame "Donkey"

Last night, my husband and I were watching that “Top 10 of 10″ or whatever it was called on AMC, where they list the top 10 movies of 10 genres. Of course, I only made it through the first section, animated, because I am a lightweight, but one of the films listed was “Shrek” and one of the last things I heard was the part where Donkey asks to stay with Shrek and mentions “in the morning, I’m making waffles!” That must’ve stuck with me, haha…

This morning, I used the last of my Hodgson Mill buckwheat pancake mix to make waffles. I followed the directions mostly, I just omitted the tbsp of oil (the egg makes it smooth enough) and added 2 tbsp chocolate chips! I absolutely love, love, love the HM products, I can’t wait to try even more of these, I keep seeing them popping up everywhere. They have a multigrain cereal that I would like to try and a whole wheat gingerbread mix, if I can find it ;-)

Once they were done, I added a tbsp of almond butter and 2 tbsp sugar free pancake syrup on top :) Served on the side was some Canadian bacon for some protein!

I hadn’t had waffles in what seems like forever and I’m glad I allowed myself to follow my craving. Even though I hope to get back on Phase 1 here soon (once I’m done eating up the fruit and a few other things), these waffles would totally be Phase 2 approved! :)

Now I’m sipping on this big mug o’ coffee with equal and 1/4 cup 1% milk. I’ve come to realize that I like dairy milk in coffee more than soymilk, unless it’s flavored. Plain soymilk just doesn’t mix real well for some reason :(


Once I’m done with the coffee, me and Suzie are venturing out into the cold for a quick walk/jog to get our blood pumping (I just wrote pumpkin, can you tell what’s on my mind, haha). Hopefully it’ll warm up soon?!

Have a great Saturday everybody! Mine is going to be busy but fun and I’ll be back later to tell you all about it.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 29, 2008, in Breakfast, coffee, exercise, products, waffles. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your waffles look fabulous! Enjoy your walk today :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

