Crap Free, Day 3

Can I say how much I love NOT eating crap?! :)

wednesdaybreak4

 

I woke up early yesterday to make real STOVE TOP OATS! I was so excited. It takes a few extra minutes but it is so worth it because they come out the perfect consistency and stirred up right and everything, which I know I can be really picky about. Unless I’m in a hurry, I doubt I’ll go back to microwaving. Woah!

These are pumpkin oats (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup 1% milk, 1/4 cup oats) topped with pumpkin pie spice, milled flaxseed, 2 tbsp raisins, 1 tbsp sliced almonds, and 1 tbsp PB :)

This breakfast held me so well, I’m thinking about having oats almost every day because there’s nothing else quite like it in terms of lasting power, for me. You’ll hear more about that later.

wedlunch1

 

Lunch was a PB&J (preserves, haha) sandwich on whole wheat with some veggies + hummus (ended up only eating the celery and one piece of broccoli — think they tasted old), some Annie’s cheddar bunnies and an orange.

This lunch was fun to eat, tasted good and lasted me 4 hours again, woo hoo!

For my afternoon snack, I re-tried a yogurt I hadn’t had in a while. My only problem with Stonyfield is that it tends to be a little on the runny side. The taste is very good though and vanilla is one of my favorites from what I remember. I’m definitely a thicker yogurt person so I may not get these again for a while, but I would like to have some other flavors just to change things up a bit from time to time.

wedpmsnack

wedpm2

I topped this with some blackberries which ended up being a nice addition! I broke them apart with my spoon as I ate the yogurt and it started changing colors, hehe. Ok, getting a little too excited there…

Yesterday I faced my first real challenge of CFW in going out to a restaurant for dinner. I was excited because we went to Red Lobster, which I had never been to before because my husband is not a big fan of seafood. I ended up ordering the Garlic jumbo grilled shrimp which came with a side salad (I had honey mustard on the side and had less than a tablespoon by dipping my fork in it). The side salad was ice berg but was at least topped with cucumber, tomato and red onion; I tossed the croutons. My shrimp were very juicy and light, not quite the buttery explosion I was afraid of but with this particular dish I was concerned that if I’d ordered it without the spread, the flavor might not have been there. It also came with some wild rice pilaf and steamed broccoli (no butter, yay).

My meal was in general crap free (grilled shrimp, veggies, rice, salad) but I do have to think about the butter (trans fat?), wild rice (not sure if it was whole grain) and salad dressing (HFCS? it wasn’t light though). Since I didn’t have an ingredients list in front of me, I’m just going to say this meal was an exception, hopefully the only one I’ll have the rest of the week.

I just checked the Red Lobster website and they have nutritional information! Whether its accurate or not, I’m pleased that I ended up ordering one of the lighest things on the menu, without even knowing ahead of time, yippee! The website is impressive; they have a meal calculator, smart tips about dining, cooking, and facts about seafood and Omega-3’s. I wish all restaurants were this caring.

I didn’t take a picture at dinner because I was with my in-laws who don’t know about the blog (yet) so I didn’t want them to think I was crazy. I think I am finally getting comfortable with the format and everything though, so hopefully soon I can share this site with everyone :)

After dinner, we went to our beloved Louisville Palace and saw the Celtic Woman concert which was amazing. I didn’t know too much about the group going into the show but I’m a big fan of Irish traditional music so I gave it a shot. They were amazing, they do a lot of singing, dancing and the costumes alone were worth going to the show for. I had a really good time.

When I got home, it had been about 5 hours since I’d eaten anything so I was a bit hungry even though bedtime was soon. So I made myself this snack, plus some lemon herbal tea and laid in bed reviewing my anatomy notes (midterm was today, easy as pie).

weddessert2

 

All in all, another good day…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 26, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, changes, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looks like a another good day, Sarah! And I LOVE Red Lobster! And you ordered my very fave meal, too! Their grilled shrimp is so good. My weakness is the cheddar biscuits! Mmmmmm….. They just recently put all their nutrition info on their website. It’s only been on there for like, a couple months or something. They had info for a few “light” items but never the whole menu until now. I’m so glad! It really helps in deciding to have. You did great!

  2. I agree with your review of Stonyfield yogurt – it’s SOOOO runny! PBJ!! Yummy! I think you did a pretty good job with dinner given the circumstances! I would NOT have been able to restrain myself from the biscuits though :)

  3. looks healthy!

  1. Pingback: Is it really Day 4? « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

