What holds you the best?

This morning, I got up a little earlier to review my anatomy notes, so I decided a good brain-food breakfast was in order…

thursdaybreak1

 

I made an omelet with 2 eggs, 1/2 cup chopped peppers and a slice of 2% cheddar cheese (topped with habanero ketchup-no HFCS). Then to round out the meal, I had 2 slices of whole wheat toast with 1 tbsp black cherry preserves, and 1/2 cup grapes.

Now, this meal was FANTASTIC tastewise, pleasurewise and I really enjoyed eating at the table while studying my notes.

Problem is, a mere three hours (not even a complete three I don’t think but close), I was HUNGRY. And not just in a “I might need a little snack to hold me over until lunch” way, it was bad. I inhaled a bag of almonds (100 calorie pack) and then chugged water all through the 10:00 hour to make until 11 to eat lunch. I couldn’t believe it.

It got me thinking, even though I ate that much, its obviously not protein that holds me in the morning. I used to think it was.

But this meal and other egg or protein-based meals I’ve had in the past for breakfast have not worked as well as a good bowl of cereal with fruit and certainly not as good as oatmeal or anything topped with peanut butter. The pumpkin oatmeal I make almost always lasts me until lunch, about 5 hours. I don’t mind eating a snack between breakfast and lunch sometimes (I usually do) but this was uncomfortable and it really shocked me. I suppose it could’ve been something else that was off today.

What is your experience with this? I know everyone is different so I can’t think what works for some people would for me, I’m just curious. I think I know what to do from now on. Stick with what works :) I still really enjoy eggs, but I think I may hard boil them for snacks or salads and eat them at restaurants or for dinner sometime. Or perhaps as a side to a more fibrous breakfast.

There’s another fact, I think it is a combination of carbohydrates and fiber that keep me going in the morning. This whole wheat bread that I bought, sadly, only has 3 grams of fiber for 2 slices. That’s just not enough, it’s no wonder. I hope to find another kind next time that has some more. Any suggestions?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 26, 2009, in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

