New York Survival Plan

So tomorrow is the big day!

new-york-city

The last time I went out of town for any length of time, it was to Nicaragua (in Central America) last summer for 10 days. That was such a fun and spiritually rewarding trip — I was just looking through the pictures last night because my husband is preparing to go again (without me) this year and is sending a couple of our best photos out to people who gave us money to go last year. It was fun reminiscing. For those of you who might be curious, I have decided not to go this year for many reasons. First, I did not get that spiritual call to go this year as I did last year. I’ve also really been working with my family lately trying to get them healthy. Lastly, the trip takes place at the same time my family members (6 of them!) from Texas come to visit and I did not get to spend much time with them last year at all. The Lord has made it clear to me that this year, my family is my mission. :)

When I went to Nicaragua last year, I did not have a “game plan.” It was my first mission trip and international trip, so I was very nervous and excited at the same time. I was also very sleep deprived because my husband and I would stay up late playing Rummy (after a long day of work in the heat) and then get woken up at 4 a.m. either by the rooster or the kitchen crew because our room was right by the kitchen and our window had a big hole in it. Plus, if you read my Nicaragua food post, you see the good food we were served there (with the exception of the lunch sandwiches of course). I actually gained weight on that trip and it took me a LONG time to get it off.

So, this trip is not nearly as far or as long, but before I leave for New York tomorrow, I definitely need to have a “game plan” in mind. Don’t get me wrong, gaining a pound or two on a trip is almost to be expected. You are away from home and therefore not able to eat home cooked meals or pack your lunch. Oftentimes you aren’t able to get in your same exercise routine either. And since it’s vacation there is the urge to splurge! But there’s no reason you have to put on multiple pounds in such a short period of time (I gained 4 last year)!

So here is my game plan:

Workouts – Our hotel in New Jersey has a gym and an outdoor jogging path. No excuses! It will be an experiment seeing when the best time to go is, but my plan is to wake up an hour earlier than everyone else and get in a workout (most likely running or elliptical, plus 1-2 days of weights over the course of the trip) shower, and then grab some breakfast. Since I usually wake up starving, I’m prepared with my stash of mini Larabars and some other tiny snacks to eat before my workout that won’t ruin my “real” breakfast. We’re also bringing our laptop, so I can surely pack a workout DVD or two in there and I’ll have my Yoga Downloads as well.

Breakfast – We have a cafe in our hotel that will most likely be the source of breakfast unless we make a special trip somewhere I don’t know about yet. I am taking 4 Odwalla bars with me (which I have never tried before!) just incase the healthy options are limited. Hopefully I can find some fruit & yogurt to go with them. I’ve also brought my own tea bags and our hotel room has a coffee maker so I should be covered there.

Lunch – My in-laws don’t eat lunch! But my husband informed them that it is a must for us, so we will be stopping while we’re out sight-seeing. I refuse to grab a hot dog from a vendor (no offense, they just don’t agree with me) so hopefully I can find a Subway (the restaurant, not the train) or something comparable for a healthy lunch on the go. There’s a rumor that we might get to stop at Peanut Butter & Company and I’m hoping it will be around lunchtime one day, haha.

Dinner – Dinner will be at various restaurants in the city. I know at least one night, we will be heading to Katz’s Deli, where I think I have finally settled on what to get after perusing their menu online. They have HUGE sandwiches, so I decided to do some soup with half a sandwich instead. Another night, my husband and I will hopefully be trying out Jive Turkey. That one will be tough because turkey is my favorite meat and all the dishes sound amazing! I’m leaning most toward the the Jive Turkey Wrap or the Turkey Meatloaf :) The rest will be sort of up in the air; I have a feeling the night we go to the Rangers game, we’ll just be eating at the Garden, so I will just have to make due.

Snacks/Dessert/Etc – I have an entire Ziploc freezer bag full of snacks (some of them sweet) going on this trip with me. I made sure to bring enough but not too much. What happened last time is I brought too much and I ate them all too quickly out of emotions. No can do this time ;-) I’m also hoping to find a Tasti-D-lite while we’re there.

Overall, I feel very prepared for this trip, moreso than my last one, but that was mostly because I didn’t know what to expect. I will also make sure to get some quality rest tonight if I can. It’s going to be hard with all the excitement and having to get up at 4 a.m., but it can be done.

This may seem like a lot of thought and work to some, but for me its better than going in unprepared and then feeling awful by the time I get home from not taking care of myself. And I really do enjoy living this way, if I didn’t, I wouldn’t do it ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 27, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Damn girl you ARE ready! but hey what do you have against a street hotdog!!!! they are soooo good lol…I try to have one every year ohhhh and with a knish with mustard YUMS!

    I love how excited you are about coming here, sometimes I think us nyers take it for granted…

    I should be a “tourist” for the day lol

  2. I think that happens wherever you are, haha. People come here and talk about how much they love Kentucky and most of the time, I can’t wait to get out!

    Okay, we’ll see on the hot dog, if it looks good, I may just have to try it ;-)

    Lol…

  3. the smell will draw you in! damn I am craving one right now! lol….funny last week Tina, from carrotsncake also made me crave a hotdog on Friday.

  4. You sound VERY well prepared :) I’m so excited for you guys! Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

