Greetings from New Jersey

Oh my gosh, I have missed you guys! How are you? We have been struggling with the internet connection at our hotel, we’re supposed to have it in our room but its not working so we’ve been having to come down to the cafe and this has been my first chance to get away!

The trip wasn’t too bad, I think it was a total of 12 hours once we got here after stopping for breakfast, lunch and to use the restroom a couple of times. It was a bit cramped at times, I think next time we drive, we’ll want to ride in a bigger vehicle. But since we’re with my in-laws and they are paying for our travel and hotel, we can’t really complain ;-)

Before leaving the house on Saturday morning, I made a quick protein shake to hold me over for a few hours before we stopped to actually eat.

0034

0043

I think the strawberry powder tasted pretty good but it was  4 in the morning so its hard to say really, haha. We stopped around 7 for breakfast and I was glad I had brought some backups. We were limited on the road to fast food, which this time was McDonald’s. I do love the fruit & yogurt parfait and their coffee is pretty good, so I got that and tried one of my new Odwalla bars.

saturdaybreakfast

This Odwalla Superfood bar was just okay; it had some flavor but its green color sort of put me off (even though I like green monsters) and I prefer my ars to be fruity, nutty or sweet and it was none of the above. I don’t think I would get this one again. Plus it didn’t hold me over as long as I’d hoped. But at least I got some vitamins out of it :)

Oh, and McDonald’s has Nature Valley granola! This must be new or not at the ones at home…

naturevalleygranola

A few hours after breakfast, I was starving again, so I had some almonds to hold me over…

saturdaysnack

We stopped for lunch at Subway somewhere in either West Virginia or Maryland, I can’t remember, haha. I got the grilled chicken on flatbread with american cheese, veggies and mustard. Plus I tried their chili. This lunch ruled and held me forever!

saturdaylunchsubway

We arrived in New Jersey last night and then went immediately to my husband’s aunt and uncle’s house for dinner. It was the first time I’d met them but they were seriously the best hosts ever. And after a long day of traveling, seeing this meal really warmed my stomach and my heart. It was almost all of my favorite foods: turkey, sweet potato, bread, peas & mushrooms, and a mixed greens salad with balsamic.

saturdaydinner

This filled me up nicely and I was comfortable and content. A few hours later dessert and tea were served. I had a small slice of this cake, which was drizzle with chocolate icing and refrigerated so it was almost like a shell. It was very tasty. Also, my aunt & uncle in law are tea lovers like me (yay) so I had some of their African red Rooibus tea :)

saturdaydessert

Unfortunately, I have to go again but hopefully tonight or in the morning I can post everything we’ve had today. We went to Dunkin Donuts for breakfast (don’t worry I didn’t eat donuts, haha), Jive Turkey for lunch and are headed to Katz’ for dinner tonight. Needless to say, there has been no need for snacks today. I haven’t had any fruit yet though so I may eat a piece before dinner or for dessert.

Thanks for stopping by, hopefully I’ll be back soon. Hope all is well with my friends back home and my blog friends as well :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 29, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Glad you guys got there safe and sound! Enjoy your vacation!!

  2. hey ! I hope you have a great vaca!!!!

    I heart the granola Mcd’s uses for their parfait…

    have fun!

  1. Pingback: Why I love bars « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

