First day in New York

So, like I mentioned in my previous post, the network reception at this hotel SUCKS! Plus my husband has been hogging what little access we’ve had because his favorite college basketball team, the University of Kentucky, just hired new coach John Calipari. He’s ecstatic to say the least; but there was some time there earlier today and yesterday where he was just going nuts in anticipation ;-)

Anyway, our New York / New Jersey trip is drawing to a close. We are leaving at 5 a.m. tomorrow morning to head back to Kentucky. I’ve had a really good time and the husband and I have lots of ideas for when we come back because we know we will! But I’m looking forward to going home, seeing my parents and friends and my sweet doggie :)

Our first day in New York was Sunday. It was cloudy and misting rain, so we spent most of the day in the car (yeah, my father-in-law drove almost everywhere). But we saw a lot of things and missed a few others (PB&Co was closed at the time we went past it and we didn’t get to go back waaaaah). Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast – Dunkin Donuts multigrain bagel with strawberry cream cheese and a coffee

dunkindonutsbagel

Oh my Lord, I wish we had a real Dunkin Donuts at home :)

Lunch – @ Jive Turkey. This was probably the best meal of the trip. I had a Jive Turkey Wrap with fried turkey, avocado, lettuce and tomato with a little caesar dressing spread on (not pictured). My husband and I also split a cup of turkey chili. The food there was to die for! It’s in Brooklyn, if you’re there you should check it out. YUM!

jiveturkeywrap2

jiveturkeywrap

jiveturkeychili

We came back to the hotel to watch the University of Louisville guys lose their elite 8 basketball game :( But Monday night our girls won, go Lady Cards! While we were here at the hotel, I took advantage of the fitness center and jogged 2 miles and did some upper body weights and ab work. It felt awesome! Especially after not moving a whole lot on Saturday ;-)

After my workout, I was feeling dehydrated so I had lots of water and two small oranges I brought with me:

sundaypostworkout

Dinner – @ Katz’s Delicatessan, a New York classic. I got the split pea soup and 1/2 egg salad sandwich. The soup was really good but sadly the sandwich left much to be desired. It was just sort of bland, but the bread (rye) was good. The server also NEVER brought me a water so that made it a little hard to have good memories of the place. But I’m glad I tried it at least once. My husband loved the pastrami!

sundaydinner1

mondaydinner2

Tasti disaster…I saw so many Tasti-d-lites when we got to NYC it was unreal. But when we were leaving Katz’s, my father in law put the name in his GPS and came up with one a mile or so from there. It was not a “real” Tasti, it was called TLC or the lighter choice. I gave it a chance because it looked so similar and even had the same flavors. But after seeing the stuff on blogs like Sweet Eats, this little cup of dulce de leche did not do it for me. I thought it was supposed to swirl up out of the cup? And I had wanted peanut butter fudge, but they were OUT OF CHOCOLATE! WHO RUNS OUT OF CHOCOLATE?!

sundaydessert1

Luckily, I didn’t let it get me down too much. I wanted to try and find another Tasti, but since our schedule was planned pretty much down to the hour, time didn’t really allow :(

But all in all, first day in the city was amazing. There is nothing quite like New York I have to say. I’ve been to Vegas and Chicago, love ‘em both, but I could stay here forever…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 31, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. So many great eats! Glad you like DD :) That egg sandwich is huge – sorry it wasn’t that great though! Hope you have a safe trip home!

  1. Pingback: Facing opposition « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: My keys to weight loss « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

