13.1, here we go…

By the time you are reading this, I will be walking a mini-marathon for the first time ever! Its not my first 13.1 mile race though, I ran this exact same course last year without stopping, not even for water (I mastered the art of the drink, pour and throw). But this year is different.

I love running and I plan to continue doing it for many years to come, God willing. I do not, however, love running long distances. This was a hard realization at first but now I have come to terms with it and I actually think its pretty cool. I’m a person who gets bored rather easily, so the fact that I have restricted myself to only running single digit distances means if I go longer than that I have to walk or (someday) bike, which is two additional types of activity!

This morning, I still fueled like I was going to run because I estimated/calculated that I will still burn nearly 1,000 calories if I keep a steady 15-minute mile or 4.0 mph walk pace. I plan (hope) to finish the race is 3:30:00. Fingers crossed :)

For breakfast and racing fuel, I toasted up a Thomas cinnamon raisin bagel and topped it with 1 tbsp of my new peanut butter (you’ll find out what soon!) and ate that alongside a sliced banana and some coffee with 1% milk.

Stay tuned for a race recap!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 25, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are going to be stellar!

  2. Go, Sarah, go! You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

