Recent dining delights

Over this past weekend, I had the opportunity to eat away from home a few times and a couple of the restaurants I tried were new to me!

On Saturday afternoon after the mini-marathon, I went with my best girl Courtney to a little place called Shiraz, which specializes in Mediterranean cuisine which we decided was right up our alley ;-)

We ordered the hummus and lentil rice as our “sides”

039

041

Then for our main entree, we both got the Falafel, which was not only amazing to look at but probably the best post-race meal I’ve ever had, no joke. Also, the prices at this place were more than reasonable…my entire meal was $8!

040

I ate everything on that plate, plus some hummus and about half of the rice. It was so good! Our only  mistake…we didn’t realize when we ordered water that they serve Coke Zero on tap, haha…next time!

Saturday night for dinner, the husband, family and I all went out to celebrate the mini-marathon success and our entire Spring of race training at Buffalo Wings & Rings, a place the husband and I tried once before on Halloween last year.

I ordered the turkey burger, but they were all out (boo!) so I opted for the 1/4 lb hamburger (no cheese) because I figured I could use a little iron. It was actually one of the tiniest burgers I’ve ever eaten (no complaints there), I actually thought about taking it off the bun because it was so small in comparison (but I didn’t). It came with homemade chips but I only had a few before I traded with my mom for her curly fries! She wanted chips instead of fries and I had wanted to try the fries, so it was a win-win.

bwandr

Then finally, on Sunday night I met up with one of my racing partners and our friend, who we had been training with but she had to bow out due to health reasons. She is anxious to get back out there running again this summer once she gets clearance from her doctors and I am very excited for her!

We went to Havana Rumba, a local Cuban restaurant that for some reason I had never been to before. I ordered the Vegetariano Press sandwich which came with sweet potato fries! I definitely overdid it because I could’ve easily eaten half the sandwich and taken the rest home but I couldn’t stop myself.

havrumba

My birthday is coming up next week and since I celebrate with a few different groups of people, expect some more restaurant meal reviews to come very soon!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 29, 2009, in dining, Dinner, Lunch, restaurants, reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. omg that post should have come with a WARNING!

    “THIS POST WILL MAKE YOU HUNGRY” ha..everything looked so delish! you ate two of my fave things, GREEK AND CUBAN! ohh and burgers lol

  2. Mmmm Greek food is the best!! Glad you guys enjoyed yourselves!

  1. Pingback: Holy falafel! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

