Sonny & Joe’s hummus, pt. 1

The very sweet and kind Elissa from Sonny and Joe’s (from Brooklyn, NY) contacted me to ask if I would be interested in reviewing their hummus for my blog readers and I of course said yes! I am a big fan of hummus but I have yet to try very many brands, so I was ecstatic.

Then I came home to this and got even more excited:

food-009

food-0071

I have tried a total of maybe 4 different flavors of hummus in my time as a hummus-lover, so here I am presented with seven entirely new blends for my taste buds to tango with!

The first one I tried was “Just Hummus” which is just the basic chickpea spread. Start with the basics, right?

food-028

Each container lid has some little known facts printed in it…so you learn something new as well! My lid had some historical info about Coney Island, which I can say I honestly knew nothing about.

food-029

Check out this beauty:

food-030

Doesn’t it look just like a dish of hummus you would order at a fancy Greek restaurant?

I decided to eat the Just Hummus with some Just Carrots, which I dipped into the container I brought to work.

food-037

food-039

I was immediately impressed by the texture and creaminess of this hummus. Most of the ones I eat get so thick from being in the fridge (like the Athenos brand) that you have to practically scrape it out of the container. There was no such problem here. It also tasted so fresh, not like it came out of a package at all.

I also followed Elissa’s genius advice and ate the hummus at room temperature. I just got my little container out and let it sit out for about 30 minutes before I dipped in. She was so right, this made a HUGE difference. I noticed flavors I never noticed in hummus before because it was too cold. Of course you would want it room temperature, some restaurants even serve it warm! I’m such a newbie.

When I ran out of carrot, I went on to spoon.

food-041

Wow! So much more tastiness when not using a carrot! While I think carrots and hummus are one of the best snacks ever, I can see why with this kind I would want to use something more bland like pita or crackers (or a spoon!)  in order to let the hummus shine on its own. I could seriously eat this by itself; I will have to make a wrap out of it too!

Since I was blessed with so many containers of hummus and I’m the only one in my house who will eat it, I’ve decided to have a “hummus tasting” on Wednesday night with my girlfriends and I told them to be prepared to provide their expert opinions as well. So stay tuned for part 2 coming tomorrow! I’m planning on taking a new flavor tonight!

I was just in Brooklyn this past March, so when I go back I will definitely have to stop by their store to give my praises. They make other dips and pickles too which would greatly interest the husband :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 29, 2009, in products, reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks Sarah!

    Have fun with your friends tonight and enjoy the hummus.

    Kind Regards,
    Elissa from Sonny & Joe’s

  2. Damn I might be driving out to Brooklyn once my car is fixed just to get some!

  3. Oh my gosh! I am so jealous of your hummus samples!! I LOVE HUMMUS! Glad you enjoyed reviewing!

  1. Pingback: Sonny & Joe’s, part 2 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

