Baskin Robbins 31 cent scoop night

Wednesday 4/29 was the annual Baskin Robbins 31 cent scoop night which is an event that donates the proceeds to America’s firefighters, including donations to National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC), the National Junior Firefighter Program and some local firefighter charities as well.

As we did last year (link from my really old Xanga site), the girls jumped in the car to get to Baskin Robbins before the 10:00 deadline. We arrived at our destination at 9:30 and were told that the line had been “closed” because they had too many people (they were like 10) and that they wouldn’t be done serving until after 10 which is when they were supposed to be closing. We were a bit perplexed, is this not for charity? Would it kill you to stay open an extra 10-15 minutes for a good cause? We chalked it up to kids who wanted to get out of work on time because they had school the next day. At least we hope that’s why.

Luckily we found another Baskin Robbins a few miles away and walked right in around 9:45 with no wait and nobody telling us we couldn’t get in. Thank goodness! They even told us to stay as long as we wanted to we enjoyed our ice cream at a table and departed around 10:10. Those people rock :)

food-055

I had a small scoop of Reese’s peanut butter cup as my choice:

food-056

I have to say, it was not that great. I guess I got spoiled by my recent Graeter’s trip because this just didn’t knock my socks off. I should’ve had what Courtney got, which was the Peanut Butter Fudge I think. She wanted hers to be featured on the blog, so here ya go:

food-057

Yeah, I’ll get that one next time! ;-)

Aleta was quite upset when she thought we might not be getting ice cream (although we had a McDonald’s or Dairy Queen contingency plan in place) so when we finally got ours, she was sooo happy!

food-058

Aleta got three scoops of three different flavors all in the same cup. That girl knows how to party! That’s Beth smiling in the background ;-)

Hooray for girlfriends, Wednesday nights, ice cream and charity. Hope you enjoyed your scoop!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 30, 2009, in ice cream and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m so bummed that I didn’t go this year!! But next year….it’s on!!!!

    Peanut butter with chocolate…a dream come true?

  2. AWWWHHHH, I want some!

  3. I’m kinda bummed that the Reese’s wasn’t as good as you expected :-( I was drooling when I saw it.

    Definitely hooray for girlfriends!!

  4. courtneydarling

    My peanut butter fudge was wicked good, but looks a little sickly from the picture, lol. And my hands…I need a manicure, lol.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

