Post-mini grocery trip

Now that Spring is here and Summer isn’t far off, I have been so much more inspired to eat more fresh fruits and veggies than I have in a while. I hate how during the winter, not much is in season and you are forced to eat a lot of frozen things. Makes you appreciate this time of year even more, right?

Here’s my stash from the store this weekend:

food-0102

  • Frozen peas
  • FRESH spinach
  • FRESH cucumber
  • FRESH tomatoes!
  • FRESH grapes
  • FRESH Sweet potato
  • New! Naturally Preferred Golden Flax high fiber cereal
  • Boca grilled vegetable burgers
  • FRESH oranges
  • OrangeĀ juice with added calcium
  • Frozen green giant baby veggie medley

The cereal is totally yummy, I like to eat it in a small cup as a snack or as part of breakfast with a green monster.

food-0161

I also picked these two things up at a different store earlier in the week.

food-005

I’ve been eating brown rice for a while now and I thought it was time to try something NEW and EXCITING = coucous! Also the brown sugar is to “spice” up my oatmeal. The few times I’ve ordered oatmeal from a restaurant, I sprinkled just a little bit of brown sugar on top and it made all the difference. Time to break my oatmeal boredom!

What new things have you guys tried lately? Do you find its easier to eat fresh produce in the Spring and Summer?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 30, 2009, in shopping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. So many fruits and veggies!! YUM! I thankfully don’t have a problem eating all the fresh produce year round – I don’t mind paying more in winter for them, I love ‘em too much!

    I love couscous! It’s such a fun change :)

  2. Such a fresh and delicious shopping trip! Looks refreshing! I def eat more fresh fruits when spring/summer hits: watermelon, canteloupe, honeydew, strawberries…I think it all just tastes better in the summertime!

    Oh, and I totally need to check out pc “pink” stuff! Thanks for the heads up! Have a great day!

  3. Hi Sarah!

    Looks like a great trip. I’m in the northeast, but I still buy fresh produce year round. Of course fruit is a lot better in the summer, but if you stick with what’s local you can buy fresh produce all year. I do it also because (a) I am cheap (b) I don’t like the excess packaging on frozen or canned vegetables.

  4. Now I have the urge to grocery shop! I live in Wisconsin and in the winter, fresh produce in most stores can taste like cardboard. For that reason I am always stoked when spring rolls around. This weekend is the first for local farmer’s markets, I can’t wait to check out what’s available. Almost time for locally-grown strawberries, my favorite!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

