Recent product reviews

I have been making it a habit of mine to try more new products these days but unfortunately (or fortunately?) that has left me with quite a backlog. Anyway, without further ado, here is a round of recent new products I have tried and what I think of ‘em:

005 

Near East Whole Grain Wheat Couscous – Original Plain

I decided to try the original plain flavor first just to get an idea of whether or not I would like the product. I have had couscous before but I had been on such a big brown rice kick lately that I had almost forgotten how many other great whole grains there are out there to have with dinner!

This product was very easy to make 1-2 servings of at a time, which is good for me because I have not gotten Josh to eat it just yet.

Its also fairly inexpensive, I believe this box cost me less than $2 and that equals 4 servings.

I liked the addition of olive oil (which you add yourself before cooking) because I’m always looking to get more healthy fats into my diet in hopes of raising my HDL cholesterol, I can’t wait to get that checked later this year, I’ve been trying very hard!

It cooks very quickly both in the microwave and on the stove…

003

The taste is great too! Its very light, fluffy and flavorful even for being just the original plain version. I will definitely buy this product again but first I think I will try some other varieties/flavors :)

Up next…

food 043

Boca Savory Mushroom Mozzarella patties

When it comes to veggie burgers and patties, I typically chose Boca brand because its 50 cents cheaper than Morningstar (my grocery store doesn’t have much variety) and they typically have fewer strange sounding ingredients than some of the other brands out there (or so I thought). I previously did a post on Veggie Burgers that opened my eyes a bit to these fake processed meats.

I went into this one with good expectations. But I have to say, as much as I do like mushrooms, the flavor of this burger was way too strong for me. I prefer fresh mushrooms rather than mushroom-flavored things. But nevertheless, I trekked on getting through two more and they were pretty good, just not one that I would buy again.

In preparation for writing this post, lo and behold, I have another reason to not buy this product again. Check this out:

Ingredients: WATER, TEXTURED SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, MUSHROOMS, ROLLED OATS, LOW MOISTURE PART SKIM MOZZARELLA CHEESE (PASTEURIZED PART-SKIM MILK, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, ENZYMES), ONIONS WHEAT GLUTEN, SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF MUSHROOMS POWDER METHYLCELLULOSE, BROWN RICE, YEAST EXTRACT, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, ONION PUREE, CORN OIL, GARLIC PUREE, CARAMEL COLOR, SALT, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, NATURAL FLAVOR (NON-MEAT), DRIED SOY SAUCE (SOYBEANS, WHEAT, SALT), THYME, DISODIUM GUANYLATE, DISODIUM INOSINATE, OREGANO, ONION POWDER, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED AND SOYBEAN OIL, DEXTROSE, LACTIC ACID, WHEAT. CONTAINS: SOY, MILK, WHEAT.

What…the…heck?!

We all know that’s code for trans fat. I thought I could trust the Boca brand but it makes sense now. Processed foods are just bad in general. Even the ones that are less processed than others often have a few choice ingredients that I’d rather not consume. So I think this has sealed the deal. I want to make my own burgers and not buy this crap anymore!

That being said, I’ve seen some products on VeggieGirl’s site and a couple of others that would be better so I would definitely give those a try.

That’s all for now, much more to come so stay tuned!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 21, 2009, in products, reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. LOVE cous cous! I haven’t had it in ages but it’s so fun to eat!

    Great reviews!! Can’t wait for more :)

  2. Boo Boca! I love cous cous though!

    You have a 5k tomorrow? Those muffins are great for a pre race jolt… Let me know if you make them!

  3. Hey, I love your story! You are so beautiful (always was) but look so much happier now!! I cant say I ever had couscous. The carbs scare me. haha. Ya, I bought those burgers once. Never again!

    ~Justine

  4. I have never tried CousCous but have always wanted to, I think I might give Near East a try =)…thanks for the review. I have been disappointed in the past with some Boca Items that I have purchased to the point that I toss the whole box out after one serving.

    • Mari – yeah I have one burger left and as much as I hate to waste stuff, it might end up in the trash. I really do like the Original Vegan variety though from Boca. I just don’t get why people use trans fat anymore?!

  5. I have a box of couscous in my pantry but have yet to make it…I will have to give it a try!

    Thanks for the heads up on the Boca. That’s so disappointing. :-( I hate it when something gets marketed as “healthy” and when you look at the actual ingredients, as you did, it’s not so much. Just goes to show, it always pays to read labels!!

    PS-Good luck tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

