Challenge #4…what’s next?

A few weeks ago I decided to give myself weekly “challenges” in the form of changes that I would eventually like to make permanent in my lifestyle. Here are the previous three in case you missed them:

1. No calorie counting

2. Meal planning (trying new recipes)

3. Caffeine awareness/reduction

Its amazing to me that I have not slipped up once in any of these things. Well, the caffeine has been challenging and is sort of still in the experimental phases. Right now I am drinking green tea instead of coffee at work!

And now…number 4, it’s going to be a tough one!

4. No weighing

JUST SAY NO!

JUST SAY NO!

Now obviously its not going to be hard for me to go an entire week without weighing myself, the real challenge is going to be extending it beyond that week. My weigh fluctuates in a 7 lb range (147-154) up and down and I’m always wearing the same clothes, so I don’t think going up and down a pound or two here and there is something to really monitor even on a weekly basis. If a problem arises, it will become obvious to me by how I’m feeling, my clothes getting tighter, etc.

We all know how discouraging the scale can be. So, when I get home today, the dumb thing is going in the closet!! I don’t even want the temptation to step on it right there in my face. Its true that I would like to eventually lose a few more pounds (tone up if you will) but I would rather judge that based on how I feel, how my clothes fit and just by observing myself. Not by that number.

So there you have it, I’m taking the fourth step toward my ideal life and it feels so great :)

Happy Tuesday!

p.s. Hangry Pants is having an Element Bar giveaway, go check it out!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 26, 2009, in Weight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the new challenge. I try to make it a habit not to weight myself more then once a week. I find it frustrating to constantly know what my weight is and feel like it brings me down if I am off by a pound or two. Currently I don’t even own a scale, I just step on the one at publix during my weekly grocery trips :)

  2. GOOD LUCK! I could never do that lol..weighing myself is part of my morning routine ha

  3. Good luck!! I don’t even own a scale – why bother?!

  4. Good for you for proactively seeking to get to a better place in your life! Weighing yourself is seriously over rated. I threw my scale in the closet. :)

  5. I just found your blog and I think your challenges are inspiring.

    I’m on the no-weigh bandwagon too, for about a month now. I let myself check in 1x per month, but mostly just go by how my clothes fit (I’m in your weight range too).

  6. good luck!!! scales are lame and unreliable anyways.

  7. Yay for giveaways!!!! :D

    I moved after Christmas and left my scale behind! I’ve weighed myself maybe 3 times since then only when I go home to my parents’ house and it’s wonderful!!!! Good luck!

  8. I think this is an awesome challenge!

  9. You’ve done so great, Sarah! Good luck with this one! Hope you had a great holiday weekend!

  10. livingwithbalance

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your weekly challenges. I can understand the difficulty of no/less coffee. I am on day two of no caffeine.

  11. I just want to thank everyone for the overwhelming amount of support on this challenge! I think it might just be the best one yet ;-)

  12. Props to not weighing yourself! I used to weigh myself everyday, but I honestly don’t really care anymore. I’m not going to be judged by a number on the scale. Go by how your clothes fit and how you feel!

  1. Pingback: Challenges, changes, etc. « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: June Challenges « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Another new challenge « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Whirlwind weekend « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: Deja vu « See Sarah Eat

  6. Pingback: Focus on your strengths « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

