Running update!

Hey guys, Happy Friday to ya!

I thought it was high time you got an update on what I’ve been doing to burn off the great foods I’ve been eating, so here it is…

After running my best time in a 5K last Saturday, I was pumped. I even went to a festival and walked around all day and I was not the least bit sore. I definitely think keeping myself in the 5K mode was the best decision I ever made. I can still enjoy running, challenge myself, and not hurt myself or be extremely sore and tired all the time. This is great :)

Now I am working through a program that will help me increase my speed and endurance so that I can hopefully do well in my next 5K on June 20th!

My goal is not to PR but just to finish and hopefully in good time. I’ve noticed that when I set that type of goal, I end up exceeding my expectations. That’s not being a defensive pessimist is it? Haha.

Here’s what this week of training looked like:

Monday : Off, Memorial Day

Tuesday: Speedwork – Ran 10 minutes, Did 2:2 intervals of running hard and walking, cooled down 5 minutes jogging.

Wednesday: Ran 4 miles!

Thursday: Cross training, major upper body strength training and some ab work, we only did one set of squats so we wouldn’t poop our legs out

Friday (today): Ran 4 miles!

This weekend (either Saturday OR Sunday) I am supposed to run 5 miles which intimidates me a little bit because its beyond my current comfort zone but I’m going to try, assuming the weather and my schedule at home cooperate. I would like to add that I do take walking breaks because sometimes a girl has got to catch her breath and let my burning calves rest for a minute.  I used to think you couldn’t (or shouldn’t) stop but that’s a thing of the past.

Next week’s schedule looks a lot like this week’s only we won’t have Monday off :) One of the days next week has “3 miles” listed on it and I squealed when I saw that. Three miles seems like a breeze now, which must mean I am getting used to it! I didn’t get in any yoga this week, so I might try to do a Yoga Download or squeeze in a class this weekend if I can.

I’ve read a lot of posts and comments about people being “jealous” of other runners for being stronger, faster, able to go longer distances, etc. and some from non-runners (or former) who wish they could run. I used to think that I wasn’t fast enough and had to go longer distances, but the truth is, I am not competing with anyone but myself. And I have to keep reminding myself that I used to be a true couch potato who weighed over 200 pounds. Sometimes I forget, believe it or not.

I also realize more and more each day how different we all are from each other, whether it be eating or exercise habits, early birds v. night owls, whatever. So there is no need for us runners to be comparing ourselves to other runners or for non-runners to think they aren’t good enough because they don’t run. What is important is that you find something you love to do and do it with all of your heart. If you aren’t physically able to run anymore, find another activity that you enjoy that will be fun but not do harm to your body. If you are already there, kudos to you!

I’m really inspired by Caitlin and her biking adventures, she’s a good example of making lemonade out of lemons. Its not always easy, but it can be done.

Be good to yourselves and have a great weekend!

p.s. For those of you who are new to S.S.E. or are just unfamiliar with my running history, check out my running page!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 29, 2009, in running, workouts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow you are doing great! good luck this weekend with the 5 mile run!

  2. livingwithbalance

    I could not agree with you more about doing activities you enjoy.

  3. Good luck with the 5 mile run today! I hope it goes well :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

