5.37

I woke up this morning WAY to early, thanks to the dog. She doesn’t know what Saturdays are but really, neither do I. Ever since I turned 25, I have been quite the early bird. But I mean, 5:30 on a Saturday morning is pretty ridiculous, right?!

I was feeling food blogger-ish, so I took a photo of my breakfast…two slices of wheat toast with Naturally More PB and a sliced banana!

020

I got on the computer for a bit, watched an old episode of (the original) 90210, the series finale, where David & Donna get married. Can you believe that was 9 years ago? The series ended my last year of high school, I remember it like yesterday, sheesh!

Then, around 8:30, I just got this urge. In the words of Forrest Gump, “I just felt like running!” Haha. I also think it might’ve had something to do with the fact that I had what I usually eat before a race! Magic fuel. I think I was also inspired by all the girls and guys running in races today :)

So I put on my clothes, shoes, sunglasses, iPod, and hit the road. I knew I had 5 miles to run this weekend but I went outside just to enjoy myself and not put a strict requirement or expectation on myself.

The weather this morning was FABULOUS! Its overcast, slightly breezy and less humid than it has been all week. Toward the end of my run, the sun came out but I loved every minute of it.

So…I totally ran 5 miles!

I warmed up walking for five minutes and then started running at an easy pace, picking it up gradually along the way. I just picked a route in my head and only checked my watch when I made it down a long stretch of road. Before I knew it, I had gone 30 minutes and felt like it had only been 10.

When I reached 45 minutes, I knew 5 miles was going to be attainable. I ran until I hit 55 minutes (or 50 minutes of running) since I usually pace about a 10-minute-mile. Then I walked and cooled down for 5 minutes and made it back home. I don’t think a shower has ever felt so good…except for when we got back from Nicaragua (no hot water) last summer, haha.

I decided to check Map My Run (since I still don’t have a Garmin or anything) and found out that my entire distance, including warm up and cool down was 5.37 miles!

I estimated that I walked probably around a half mile, so I pretty much ran almost 5 miles. I’m counting it as 5!

Once I was all refreshed, I rehydrated with this Sobe LifewaterFuji Apple Pear. It was DELICIOUS! This is by far my favorite one of all that I have tried.

021

Hope you all are having a great Saturday, I know I’ve started mine off with a bang :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 30, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sarah,

    Congrats sweetie! How exciting. I ran a lot last summer (did a 5k on Turkey Day), but stopped around Nutcracker season to prevent any injuries. I just started training for another race @ the begining of the week. Good luck!

    Hope your weekend is wonderful!
    With Love,
    Emily

  2. Ouch! That is an early morning wake up call, I hate when the pupperoons wake me up early. Way to go with the run!

  3. I would love to do a Forrest Gump kinda run.

  4. Congrats on the 5 miles. That is wonderful

  5. Yum bananas and pb. one of my favorites!

  6. Kudos on the run! that is great….

    Ha my friends and fam make fun of me cause I watch 90210 over and over again on SoapNet lol…it keeps me young (and nostalgic) =)

  7. I am so sad I cant have Naturally More anymore :(. It was my fav pb!!Never heard of mapmyrun. Pretty cool. Thanks for the link (even though I dont really run).

    ~Justine

  8. yay, sarah! see sarah RUN!
    I totally get that sometimes, too…the euphoria of just running freely, with the wind in my face…lovely. :-)

  9. Way to go, Sarah!!! 5 miles is a HUGE accomplishment! Don’t you feel like you can do almost ANYTHING now?! Hey, you can! You just ran 5 miles!! teehee ;-))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

