Yes, I ate a donut

The black bean burgers I made for my potluck dinner last night turned out great! Sadly, my camera batteries died earlier in the day so I do not have a single picture of them :(

However, you can view the recipe for yourself here: Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

I followed the recipe to a T and they came out great. It made me feel like I was eating something so much healthier than a frozen preservative-filled veggie patty. We served them with avocado, which has now become one of my favorite veggie burger toppings ;-) On the side we had sweet potato fries, a salad (with feta, nuts and raisins), and for dessert: bananas, blackberries and ff vanilla yogurt. It was a great night!

This morning, I knew I was having a green monster, but since I still have yet to purchase any protein powder, I always have to eat something with mine in order to stay full for a longer period of time.

96e4f80317d9__1245292029000

Luckily, I had received a shipment from Holey Donuts yesterday…a Ultra Low Fat Gourmet donut company! I’m sure most of you have heard of them by now on the blogs, but for my readers who haven’t…oh my gosh!

I’m not a big donut eater, mostly because they hurt my teeth and my stomach with their sugariness and lack of nutrients, but “gourmet” is my new favorite word, so I thought I would give these a shot and let Josh try some too since he’s a big donut fan and could benefit from trying a healthier version.

For dessert last night, Josh tried the donut holes and he said they were “pretty good.” He’s not a man of many words. But he’s looking forward to trying some more of our stash soon.

This morning with my green monster, I decided to try the Low Fat Pink Velvet Strawberry Frosted which is apparently a Valentine’s Day special of theirs.

1f21c35b799d__1245291967000

Oh my goodness! This reminded me of my beloved strawberry cupcakes that I request for my birthday every year :) This is what donuts are supposed to taste like. After 15 seconds in the microwave, this donut was soft but not falling apart and the icing was melted but not dripping off the side.

Check out these nutritionals:

Nutrition Label.xls

I have never felt so good about eating a donut before!

Holey Donuts, I think you have created a monster, ha ha. Can’t wait to try more of my samples and write an official review for you guys soon. Please check out the website in the mean time!

Happy Thursday :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 18, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, products and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Glad you liked the donut! I love them!! Also, glad the recipe was a success – they sound fantastic!

  2. LOL Sarah I cracked up this morning when I read the post title! For some reason, “Yes, I ate a donut” looked so foreign on your page! ;-) But after reading your post, I realized WHY you ate a donut and am now convinced that I HAVE to try some of these!! I have always avoided donuts like the plague for fear of the Lay’s potato chip syndrome – “You can’t eat just one!” Haha! But seriously, I will have to put these on my list of “MUST TRY.” Thanks for the heads up! Have a great Thursday girlie! Love ya!

  3. Ohhh I heart donuts! I am drooling over here

  4. I love that strawberry holey donut too, yum. I may have to order some soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

