Kashmir Indian Restaurant

I have decided that one of the most fun ways to spend my summer this year is going to include being a tourist in my own city! Just from walking down the streets of some of my favorite neighborhoods, I am amazed at the number of wonderful sounding restaurants that I have yet to try…and I’ve lived here for 22 years!

This past Saturday, my dear friend Courtney and I decided to mark one of those places off the list (for me, she had been there before and raved about it): Kashmir Indian Restaurant. It in located in the Highlands neighborhood, which, if you ever come to Louisville, is a must visit!

First off, we went on a Saturday night at 7:30, which is a busy time for most places but this place was only half full from what I could tell. We were immediately greeted by a nice gentleman who asked us if we would prefer inside or outside dining…outside please! One of the best things about summer is the option of eating outside when the weather has cooled off a bit. We really got to enjoy the breeze and people watch.

Pic courtesy of Kashmir

Pic courtesy of Kashmir

 As we were being seated, we were served water, which was so nice because we had just gotten out of a movie and were rather parched. There are other drinks on the menu, including an extensive wine list, but it was a just water kind of night.

For my meal, I ordered the Channa Saag, which was described as “whole chick peas cooked with spinach in an onion and tomato curry.” Chick peas? Spinach? Curry? WINNER! The entrees are served in a not-too-large silver serving dish with another dish containing basmati rice on the side, so you can build it yourself on a separate plate (or share with friends).

kashmir

This picture does not do justice to the color of the dish, it came out looking really green (because of the spinach) and would look unappetizing to a lot of people but it actually made me excited! The dish was heavenly, I finished it all plus another portion of rice an an order of naan, which Courtney accurately describes as “a big Indian style pancake.” Yum. I’m sorry I didn’t get a picture of that!

I only recently discovered a love for Indian food, having only been to two restaurants before, including Shalimar back in March, but I am glad that Kashmir has been added to that list and it will definitely be a place I go to again. They have an endless amount of choices on the menu (not to mention a weekend Lunch Buffet) and I’m sure that no matter your preferences you could find something to eat there.

I’m going to have to drag Josh sometime and test out that theory :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 24, 2009, in restaurants, reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I find indian food tastes a lot better than it looks, too. Chana Saag is my go-to dish!!!

  2. I still need to have REAL Indian food – Trader Joe’s just doesn’t cut it ;)

  3. I’ve never tried Indian food.

    And I love being able to cook up a nice meal and then sit outside to enjoy it. :-)

  4. I have never had indian food but I am glad you enjoyed yourself!

  5. Kashmir is really good! Another good place is Sitar, also on Bardstown Road.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

