Why I love bars

Bars that you eat, I mean, ha ha.

Bars are great for me because…

  • They make a great snack or part of a meal
  • They are convenient, don’t require assembly
  • They can fit into your purse or pocket
  • Easy to sneak into the movie theatre
  • Quiet enough to eat during church (assuming you don’t get a crunchy one)
  • There are so many different brands and flavors, the possibilities are endless
  • If you find a good brand, you can get some great vitamins and nutrients
  • Well balanced bars (good combo of carbs + protein) make great pre or post exercise fuel
  • They are fun to write reviews for!

What about you…what do you like (or not like) about bars?

I recently tried a couple more. It seems like new ones are coming out all the time, not to mention the ones I still haven’tĀ gotten to yet.

First up, Odwalla Mochawalla (that’s a mouth full)!

food 004

When I first bit into this bar, the coffee flavor was a little overwhelming and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to keep going. But I took a second bite and suddenly, the mocha flavor really shined through and I loved it! I would definitely only recommend this to people who like the taste of coffee/espresso because it is rather strong. But when I finished the bar, I felt good and it really gave me a boost after a draining workout and held me over nicely until I was able to get home to dinner.

Next, Amazing Grass Chocolate Whole Food energy bar!

amazinggrassbar

The kind folks over at Amazing Grass sent me some samples of their products, including this bar. I have to say, after trying the Odwalla Superfood bar, I was not at all optimistic that I would like this one, even if it was coated in chocolate!

But, I was pleasantly surprised. This bar did not at all taste like the other and the chocolate coating was the perfect touch. It did not taste like greens at all! The bar was chewy and took a while to eat, which is good for my satiety. My only complaint is that as I was eating it, some chocolate pieces kept falling off, so I made a little mess ;-)

I’m really excited to try the drink powders next!

Happy Thursday.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 25, 2009, in products, reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love bars too! Two of my faves are Kashi and Nature Valley

  2. we rarely get all these new bars over in Canada..once in awhile I’ll order some special ones I can’t get over the internet, but then I have to deal with HIGH shipping costs. boo. I just bit into my FIRST peanut butter cookie luna bar. LOVED IT

  3. I LOVE bars as well! :) I just recently started bringing them to work with me so I have a snack on the way home from work. It’s really the perfect thing to hold me over instead of racing home and immediately wanting to eat whatever I see when I get home.

  4. Ive been meaning to try that green bar for a while! I think I have been chicken! hahaha Thanks for the review :)

  5. Love that “quiet enough to eat during church” haha that is hilarious :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

