New Recipe: Tofu Lasagna!

This one is for you Mari, ha ha ;-)

Last night at our girl’s night potluck dinner, I had main course. So, I decided to use the tofu in my refrigerator in a new way: Tofu Lasagna!

I used this recipe from allrecipes.com but made my own modifications: I didn’t have parsley and so I added some oregano and garlic to the mix. I used soymilk instead of regular milk because it was all I had. I also used more spaghetti sauce than it called for (super chunky vegetable) to cover the noodles and I didn’t end up using all the pasta I cooked. The only thing was the pasta was not whole grain as I had trouble finding any at my store. Oh well!

Mixing the sauce ingredients:

food 014

food 015

Layering in the pan:

food 016

Going into the oven:

food 018

And coming out…it smelled so good!

food 019

My portion served with a salad + snap peas and some garlic bread :)

food 020

One serving of this was enough for me, it was quite filling! I cut the dish into 9 (not quite equal) servings and I had leftovers…one for lunch today and two in the freezer for a later time. This recipe was really quick and easy to make, especially for a group setting.

I think if I made it again, I would reduce the cheese on top just a bit and maybe experiment with making my own sauce instead of relying on the jar. But it was great nonetheless!

Happy almost Friday :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 9, 2009, in Dinner, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. FINALLY! you were driving me coookoooo lol…and btw what a great post to read while I am doing a Protein Day lol…(((((drooling)))))

    I Heart Lasagna, the cheesier the better =) my mom makes a great eggplant lasagna with potatoes (I think it is a Greek Lasagna)

  2. That sounds great!! Thanks for posting the recipe :) I love All Recipes!

  3. Thanks for this recipe, that look great. I’m going to prepare it tomorrow.

  1. Pingback: Random eats « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

