Whirlwind weekend

Hey peeps!

I can’t believe it’s already been three days again since I’ve been on here (sorry Mari, haha). It’s been a crazy weekend…took a trip on Friday to Indiana to see No Doubt with Paramore, which was awesome but left us not getting home until 4 a.m.! Then Saturday I had a day trip downtown with my girlfriends to an amazing restaurant and art gallery (photos coming soon). Then that night was UFC 100 which we hosted at our house complete with pizza and boneless buffalo wings!

Needless to say, I’m ready for this week to start. I’m still trying to use up a lot of foods in the house before I start “cleaning up” my diet again. I don’t believe in wasting anything (as in throwing it away) so I’m thinking that perhaps next week or the week after I’ll be ready to get on a new track.

I’ve been reading Heather’s blog a lot recently and I’m taking a lot of what she says to heart. We have similar stories of HUGE weight loss (she’s kept hers off for 10 years!), being runners,¬†and also experimenting with lots of different diet “strategies.” Lately, she has shared a lot about sugar (how we don’t need it) and it has really hit home for me.

I’ve cut back on sugar before and it made me feel great…until I started supplementing it with artificially sweetened products. Then, earlier this year when I went “crap free” I removed artificial sweeteners from my diet (mostly) and have also been more conscious of things like high fructose corn syrup and products whose first ingredient is sugar.

But, I know I’ve let the sugar slide a little too much lately and I am paying the price. I’m finding myself more and more tired, not getting as much out of my workouts as I used to and just overall, feeling kind of crappy (for lack of a better word). I’m also realizing that I need to do what works for me, what I’m feeling, and what I want instead of what a book or the food pyramid or anything like that says. So, even though I’m using Heather as inspiration, I’m doing my own thing and will adjust for my own needs and tastes.

This whole thing is still sort of in the brainstorming stages, but here is what I’m thinking about so far:

More : Vegetables, protein (seafood, nuts, nut butters, beans, etc.), good fats (nuts, avocados, some oils), plain Greek yogurt, cheese…

Less : Fruit, grains (bread, rice, etc.), bars as snacks, desserts, diet soda, heavily sweetened yogurt, adding sugar to anything (coffee, oatmeal, etc.), chewing gum (sugarless, but still a bad habit)…

FYI – I am not doing this for weight loss! I’ve actually only weighed myself a couple of times this summer (since starting my no weigh in challenge) and I’ve remained steady. My clothes fit fine, even a bit loose at times. I’m doing this to feel better overall, to get more energy (and more out of my workouts) and also to have a little fun experimenting with new foods and recipes along the way.

I’ll discuss this more when I’m ready to get it going and with more of a plan in mind. As for today…I have leftover pizza for lunch ;-)

Happy Monday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 13, 2009, in experiments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. HA you know me too well! I kept checking all weekend for an update lol…

    I am a slave to sugar well to Splenda and I know that I should give it up but it is HARD! I love my coffee very light and sweet. I must admit though that I went from 10 packets of Splenda in my coffee to 5 lol…babysteps right???

    Dude, What’s a girl got to do to FINALLY get on your blog roll ha…I feel like I am on the other side of the velvet rope and some big bouncer dude names ROCCO is not letting me in lol….

    Have a great day! and enjoy your pizza…I am planning to make that for din din

  2. YAY I AM IN! (((((CHEESING))))))

  3. Sarah,
    I think this sounds like a great plan. More vegetables, protein and good fats can work wonders. Oh, and the sugar-free gum…I gave it up for Lent this past year, and I’m still going strong. I used to chew it constantly, but I no longer miss it. Those first few days were tough, but you get used to not reaching for the Orbit. I actually had a piece not too long ago – tasted gross!

    Best of luck my friend – I’m have no doubt you’ll feel better as well as have more energy.

    Thanks for shout-out. :)
    Love,
    Heather

  1. Pingback: What’s going on? « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Back on track « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

