For the love of almond butter

Hey blog friends! I guess I just barely made the self-imposed 3-day limit between blog posts, whoops. How are you?

I have lots to catch up on but let’s talk first about something “new” I tried recently. I have had almond butter before but only the chunky variety. It was good but I still think PB is the best, in my opinion.

This past week or so, I started using another kind of almond butter, Blue Diamond creamy almond butter which I found at Whole Foods. Unfortunately almond butter tends to be a bit more expensive…this one clocked in at $4.99.

I have eaten it many times this week, many different ways, but mostly in my morning oatmeal!

With dried apricots and chocolate chips:

011

The usual (aka banana):

003

Just as a side note, I have used up all my dried fruit and am now down to just bananas in my oats in the morning. I’ve also cut back on my grain intake (which I learned to overdo as a runner), especially mid day, which I have already noticed make a HUGE difference in my energy levels. No more 2 p.m. slump for this girl!

I am a fan of gritty nut butters and this one certainly satisfied that. It took a little getting used to after using PB for so long but it certainly keeps me satisfied and tastes very good.

That being said, I’m ready to switch back to PB for a bit – but I’d like to keep almond butter in my regular rotation, maybe I will even try to make my own?!

It also makes a great topping for plain Greek yogurt, mmm…

Have a lovely evening!

p.s. I noticed on the website that they have a honey variety, oh oh! ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 23, 2009, in products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am a PB girl too but I also love TJ’s Almond Butter and some might throw rocks at me for saying this but I like TJ’s almond butter more than Barneys which seems to be the fave of most of the bloggers

  2. I have never tried almond butter but I definitely would love to! Maybe i’ll make my own sometime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

