When in doubt, eat breakfast for dinner!

There are times when I come home from a long day at work and the last thing I want to do is think hard about what to make for dinner. I seem to be having a lot of those days here recently and I have found what works the best and stays within my dietary goals is to have breakfast for dinner. Plus, it’s fun :)

015

Scrambled eggs + red and green peppers and hot sauce and two slices of whole wheat toast with butter (protein, carbs and veggies still covered).

Other things I had that didn’t make it onto my camera were:

  • Broccoli and cheese omelet (2 eggs, 1/2 cup of broccoli, 1 slice 2% cheese) with ketchup and a side of plain grits
  • Cauliflower and cheese omelet (same way as above only with cauliflower) and a slice of whole wheat toast

This wasn’t really breakfast but it was definitely an interesting concoction…

007

Pearled barley (cooked) mixed with 1/2 cup chunky vegetable pasta sauce, 2/3 cup Morningstar veggie crumbles, 1/4 cup chopped green pepper and topped with a sprinkle of parm cheese.

This meal was quick, delicious and kept me full for hours. I love it when a random meal works out that way, don’t you?

What are some of the weirdest things you’ve eaten for dinner? Please share ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 24, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love to eat breakfast for dinner–I probably do it more often than normal dinner meals!

  2. Yums I could go for some breakfast! Strangest thing I had for dinner is a plate of Grapes, Cheese, Pepperoni and Melba toast lol…sometimes I just want a plate of hors d’oeuvres =)

  3. I’m such a fan of breakfast I really should eat it for dinner more often! Yum!

    Thank you for the great idea with the pearled barley!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

