Fast cars and a yard of bricks

Well, hello there!

I am nearing the end of a really great weekend, that began with a trip to Indianapolis and ended on the couch with my dog watching the “Halloween” remake from a couple of years ago. I’m a big fan of the original but I love Rob Zombie, so I guess I can say it’s okay. The first half is pretty awesome though.

Anyway, on Friday morning I got up at 5 a.m., ate a quick bowl of oats + almond butter and hit the road with my best friend Courtney for the two hour trek up to Indy. We stopped at Speedway for coffee first too. Haha, Speedway on the way to an actual Speedway ;-)

Chevy Day was a major success! We got to see two practices, a Q&A with Tony Stewart and lots of other fun displays and people watching. For lunch, I ate an almond butter sandwich I packed in my purse (they let food in thank goodness) and a bag of Sun Chips. I also had some mini Larabars stashed in my purse for snacks.

It was hot, though not nearly as hot as last year, and we were parched and tired of water, so we invested in some frozen Lemon ices, which were totally yummy, even if they contained over 60 grams of sugar (eek)!

085

It really quenched it though!

We were so blessed to have friends we could stay with in Indy and they so graciously fed us both dinner and breakfast the next morning. On the way to their house, we couldn’t help but notice this amazing place…

092

I had never been to one before!! And now we want one at home! :( I wish we hadn’t been limited to stuff that has to sit in a hot car all day or else I might’ve made some major purchases!

We arrived to a lovely grill out dinner, which really hit the spot after a long day of traveling, loud car watching and sunshine (thank goodness for spray sunblock, it’s the best).

I had a bratwurst with onions and ketchup, corn on the cob, some chips and a lovely fruit salad. Behold.

097

Over the course of the rest of the evening, I had two chocolate chip cookies, two Miller Lites and half of this bad boy that we picked up at Super Target.

093

It was some chocolate brownie peanut butter thing with peanut butter cups and chocolate drizzle. Heaven in a plastic container for $2.49.

Yowzah, I’m definitely an emotional eater, I think I was tired, not to mention everything just looked so darn good.

The next morning, my friend made some amazing pancakes, that I topped with half a banana and a small drizzle of syrup. I also had a not pictured yogurt for some protein.

098

At the track, I munched on another mini Lara since the pancakes didn’t hold me over too long. When it was time for lunch, I only had one thing on my mind…

107

I think the reason for not eating stuff like this on a regular basis is that it really is a special treat when you get to. It wasn’t the best tasting food I’d ever had but it definitely satisfied a craving and it will be a long while before I have it again :)

On Saturday, we watched qualifying, which was delayed by 4 hours thanks to some lovely rainstorms. But it definitely cooled the weather off so that helped ;-) We also got to see a lot of drivers walk by and got some autographs!

We left the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (aka the Brickyard) around 4 in the afternoon, so we stopped for dinner on the way home. We tried to find something we didn’t have at home, but we settled on Max & Erma’s because we were just ready to eat and options were limited. Plus it was the same place we ate on the way home last year so it was like tradition!

I got half a chicken salad croissant and a bowl of chicken tortilla soup.

144

145

It was a really great meal and we had an amazing waitress which made it an even better time. I think we just might have to hold up this tradition!

On the way home, I snacked on some peanut M&M’s…needless to say this was an indulgent weekend! I’m looking forward to getting back to more balanced eating and exercise this week :)

Hope you have enjoyed your weekend as well…”see” you soon!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 26, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, indulgences, larabar, Lunch, movies, pancakes, restaurants, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow that sounds like a great weekend, filled with Yummy Food!

    Omg Super Tar-Jay! THEY DO EXIST?!?!?! I thought it was an urban myth ha

  2. I live in Indy – too bad I didn’t know you were here or we could have done a meet up! That looks like a lot of fun (and a lot of indulgences)!

    I hope you enjoyed your time in Indy! :)

  3. I would like to say something: Thank You!

    1. For having a weekend where you indulged. There are a lot of bloggers who indulged on 2 pieces of dark chocolate or an extra glass of wine. COME ON…there are weekends filled with delicious fries and M&Ms. It’s nice to see someone who actually eats a little indulgent sometimes…I am not even going to say naughty. Food shouldn’t be naughty..it only becomes naughty if we abuse it…frankly

    2. For not beating yourself up. Yeah, so what. You had a fun weekend, now you get back on the tracks and pump yourself full of veggies/fruit, etc. This is so important for even me to read. It would have been one thing if you would have beaten yourself up, but you enjoyed it instead.

    3. For being real

    Thanks!

    • Thank YOU girl! I used to be the one who beat myself up for eating french fries and thought a glass of wine was an indulgence. I’m glad those days are gone and I’m glad to be reminded of the place I’m at now which is SO much better ;-)

  4. Thought I’d let you know that I’m pretty sure that the Target that is getting redone on Hubbards/Westport is becoming a Super Target :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

