Happy Birthday Josh!

Happy Monday blog friends!

I had a short work day today because I took off early to hang out with my hubby for his 29th birthday today :)

This morning, I woke up very early to get in a work out before work since I knew I’d have a busy day today. Before hitting the gym, I fueled up on some oats with PB and banana.

001

At the gym, we did a cardio circuit that went something like this: 5 minute warm up on the treadmill, 5 minute moderate walk on treadmill, 5 minutes on the bike, 5 minutes of step ups (wow!), 5 minutes elliptical, 5 minutes treadmill and 5 minute cool down on the bike. And some stretching!

We had a party at work mid-morning where I had some veggies from a veggie tray with salsa and a few cubes of cheese. It was the perfect amount to hold me over, so much lighter than some snacks I’ve been enjoying lately.

I had lunch at home, which was a nice change. I made a salad with romaine, tuna salad and a pickle, plus a carrot and hummus on the side.

002

After lunch we went to the Zoo! It was so much fun and kind of a nice day for late July, only mid-80’s :) Here’s a pic we took while we were there:

006

Gorillas hanging out! They held hands a few times too, aww ;-)

On the way home, I snacked on some mixed nuts and a couple pieces of dark chocolate later on.

For dinner, we went to Wick’s Pizza, Josh’s favorite place to get pizza and a local chain here in Louisville. I’m not a big pizza eater, but when I do get it, this is one of the best places to go!

We had a big group, so a few of us split a veggie delight, which came with olives (green and black), tomatoes, onions, mushrooms and normally green peppers but one person didn’t like them so we left those off. It was a HUGE pie!

016

I ate two slices this size:

017

Then one small corner piece. While I was eating it, I noticed I was getting full so I stopped. Normally I could’ve and would’ve eaten more but I chose to listen to my cues this time and I’m so glad I did. I also drank about 8 huge glasses of water tonight ;-)

For dessert, I ate two more squares of dark chocolate. I bought a huge bar and I’m hoping it will last me all week!

Happy Birthday Josh :)

Hope you all had a great day too!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 27, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday To Your Hubby!!!!!!!!

  2. Hi,
    I just found your blog. Great job on the weight loss. I have lost 52lbs, and I have less than 10 lbs to go. You say on your weight loss page that keeping of the weight is harder than losing it. Since I’m almost to goal, I was wondering what do you think makes keeping it off so hard?

    • Great question Amani! First, congrats to you for your weight loss, that is awesome! Well, I think when I say that I mean it’s just a longer process. Losing weight takes a set amount of time (for me almost a year) but keeping it off should be for the rest of your life, which can be intimidating at times. I’ve also had some fluctuations in my weight at times (usually once a year or so) and that requires me to go back and reassess my diet and exercise goals. But after a while it does get easier, especially if you stay positive and aren’t too hard on yourself. And that is just my experience, it is different for every person, some even say keeping it off is easier, haha. Thanks for your comment!

  3. Happy birthday to your hubby! And good for you for listening to your body with the pizza. I struggle with that!

  4. Happy Birthday to Josh! (belated actually!) I hope you two had a good day together celebrating! I must say that the highlight of my day would probably have been that PIZZA! Pizza is one of my very faves and I can never seem to stop eating it…so congrats to you for knowing when it is enough. That’s awesome!

    And how cute are those gorillas?! I know, aren’t you LOVING this midwest July weather?! Ahhhhhh…….nice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

