Hummus goes with everything

Hello there! Hope Tuesday treated you all well ;-)

This morning, I had what is slowly becoming my “usual”… oats with banana and PB!

NewFoodpics 010

Only this time, I cut the portions back just a bit. I used 1/3 cup of oats, 1/3 cup of milk and 1/6 cup of water instead of the usual 1/2 cup measurements. I noticed today that I was just as full with this much as I was with more, so it’s good to know that I actually require less than I think I do.

When I got to work, I had a cup of coffee with some International Delight french vanilla creamer (one of the only kinds without trans fat). I managed to hold off a mid-morning snack until 11:30!

I think this breakfast is the power combo for me. I had a mini Larabar to hold me over through my workout and until lunch. I only have one left from a race I did back in March! Took me forever to get through them ;-)

Our workout today was lots of weight lifting and strength training: chest presses, bicep curls, push ups, abs, flyes, preacher curls, squats, plies…that’s all I can recall. We also warmed up on the treadmill for 5 minutes and then stayed on for 10 after our circuits were finished. I say “our” because I work out with my friend Farrah (who is a trainer) nearly every day.

For lunch, I had a big salad (or Hugh Jass as some of you say) with romaine, cucumber, chickpeas and hummus. I have decided today that hummus pretty much goes with everything. It even works as a salad dressing!

NewFoodpics 011

Oh yeah, a carrot snuck in there too! Whoever said that when you start eating real carrots you never go back (as in to mini or baby carrots) they were totally right! I can’t even imagine those things now.

For my afternoon snack, I had another cup of coffee (eek) and some mixed nuts. I’ve noticed that I need to do protein snacks more in the afternoons because that is when I need it the most.

Dinner was leftover pizza from last night, yay! I also cooked up some cauliflower to get even more veggies in my life :)

NewFoodpics 012

After our dinner settled, we went to play volleyball, which I haven’t done in what seems like months. We used to play weekly, but Tuesdays had just become busy for us and in the Fall for me they will again as I am taking a class. But it was nice to play tonight, I’m definitely feeling it and burned a few more calories ;-)

I just ate two squares of dark chocolate and I’m just about ready for bed. Have a good night, see you all tomorrow! It’s girls night potluck tomorrow, I can’t wait :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 28, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, creamer, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, hummus, larabar, Lunch, Snacks, trans fat, volleyball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. hummus as salad dressing? interesting! I have to admit I have not given hummus enough credit until now…will have to experiment with it soon!

  2. I love hummus. Do you ever try the Sabra ones? They have one that is spicy. I like spicy food, so I think that one is my fave. I actually have some chickpeas. I think I might make some hummus today. Thanks for the inspiration, and for adding me to your blogroll ;-)

    • Actually the kind I have right now is Sabra! I love the creamier ones. I’ve had that spicy one too, it is good. I think my favorite though is called Hot Enough Hummus from Sonny & Joe’s — they sent me some samples a while back, they are located in New York. I need to make my own too! You are welcome :)

  3. YAY that’s what I did today too (used hummus as salad dressing) and I totally agree that it for sure goes with everything!

  4. Everytime I see your breakfast…I want to curl under the covers and enjoy my own bowl =)

  5. You totally have to look at my ME meal hummus burgers! What I like…half a can of chickpeas, a tablespoon of flax and seasame seeds, good sea salt, a squirt of lemon, and a few toasted almonds blended…adding tahini, just a tablespoons after…yummy!
    Totally enter my giveaway! This would win!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

