Cleaning out MySpace

Good morning bloggies!

I decided today to cancel my MySpace account since I now have the blog, Twitter, and Facebook to keep me occupied and lately I’ve been plagued with nothing by spam and friend requests from people I don’t know, so I figured, why bother?

While I was “cleaning it out” (aka copying all my pics and other stuff I want to save) I remembered the “blog” feature on there and I found a few things I wanted to save from that too. There were two in particular that stood out to me and I felt were worth repeating here on the blog, over a year and a half later!

Here ya go :)

1-18-08 Happy Annivesary to Myself

On this day, January 18th, of 2007, I officially (in writing and everything) took control of my lifestyle and started living healthier. I can’t believe it has been a year already. So much has changed that now, not just physically, but emotionally, spiritually, etc. I’m having a hard time remembering how I was before; I guess that is a good sign!

For anyone who wants to start living a healthier life (don’t diet, don’t get surgery, please!) you can do it and you can do it all on your own. You don’t need diets, doctors, surgeons, whatever. You just need yourself and the people or things in your life that give you strength. I’m always happy to offer advice and support, I’ve been where you are!

Well, I had planned to write a longer, more intelligent blog on this topic but I think I waited too late in the day when my creative juices (fueled by caffeine) have dulled. But alas, it was worth mentioning.

Happy 1st anniversary self, here’s to many more :)

Sarah

1-29-08 (My discovery of the various forms of oatmeal!)

In my quest to eat things less processed and more whole/natural, I decided to buy a can of oats instead of my usual flavored instant oatmeal packets. So with that and needing to use up the rest of my skim milk this week, I have had oatmeal for the last few days and I am having way too much fun experimenting with different fruit and flavor combinations. Here is what I’ve had so far:

Saturday – 1/2 cup of oats, 1 cup of skim milk (cooked in microwave) and 1 tsp honey, 1/2 cup fresh blueberries (290 calories)

Sunday – same oats & milk, plus 1 medium chopped red apple, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (335 calories)

Monday – same oats & milk, plus 1 tsp honey and 1 medium sliced banana – My 2nd favorite so far! (355 calories)

Tuesday (today) – same oats & milk, plus 1 box (about 1/4 cup) raisins and 1 tbsp semisweet chocolate chips! YUM! (430 calories)

All of these made a huge bowl of oatmeal which is very filling and nutritious. I think tomorrow or the next day, I will try some combination with peanut butter. And there’s a recipe for oatmeal in my Biggest Loser cookbook that has orange juice in it, so I may try that too. But so far the chocolate one has been the best :)

p.s. 1-30-08: Tried oatmeal with banana and 1 tbsp peanut butter, pretty good tasting and very filling, but still not nearly the awesomeness that is the chocolate and raisins! YUM.

p.p.s. 2-5-08: I tried the oatmeal with banana and peanut butter again, only with 3/4 cup milk instead of a whole cup. It was much better (chunkier) and I could taste the peanut butter more this time around! :) I’m thinking of calling it my Elvis Oatmeal, for those of you who are familiar with The King’s favorite sandwich!

p.p.p.s. 2-7-08: Yet another update! I added a teaspoon of honey to the apple & cinnamon oatmeal and that made it much better.”

Haha, I loved reading about the first time I tried banana PB oatmeal — it obviously stuck more than I thought it would!

Have a great day friends :) Thanks for indulging me on this little stroll down memory lane.

p.s. Don’t forget to enter my Musselman’s Applesauce giveaway — contest ends at 11:59 tonight!!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 7, 2009, in blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I wish I had kept my blogs from my old myspace account but I decided a clean break was better. Those are such fun entries and I’ll have to try your elvis oats!

    Have a GREAT Friday Sarah!

  2. I HATE myspace but I keep my account just to keep in contact with my family who either live in different States or out of the country. I also refuse to open a Facebook account lol…all I need is my blog =)

    BTW I had the oatmeal this morning! omg so delish

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

