99 minutes

This morning, I started the day off with some oat bran with blueberries and PB. I wonder what it would be like if I cooked it with some of the blueberries in it already? Like blueberry pancakes?

NewFoodpics 041

You have probably heard many people say that if you are having trouble fitting exercise into your day, just break it up into smaller sessions. It adds up, right?

Well, today I decided to do a little experiment. At work, I started parking 1.09 miles away from my building, not only saving me money by downgrading my parking pass to a further away lot, but also giving me an opportunity to walk 17 minutes to get to work. Yes, I did this on purpose ;-) And yes, I naturally walk that fast, I didn’t push it or anything.

Then I decided to start utilizing my breaks at work. We are given two paid 15-minute breaks, usually one in the morning and one in the afternoon. Too often mine go by without me even leaving my computer. So I used both of those today and got up from my desk and went for a stroll around campus.

How did I do it? I put it on my calendar!

After my first 15 minute break walk, I came back and ate some mixed nuts.

NewFoodpics 042

Then, I decided to eat my lunch away from my desk today. I walked to a nearby building and ate outside, enjoying the fresh air, sunshine and working on some ideas for the blog and other projects.

NewFoodpics 043

I had some tuna with Smart Balance mayo over a bed of greens, grape tomatoes and cucumber. And a lovely La Croix. Singlehandedly responsible for getting me off of Coke Zero again!

After I finished eating and was fresh out of ideas, I still had 30 minutes of my lunch break left, so I went for another walk. Now mind you, I’m not power walking or breaking much of a sweat but I’m definitely moving the whole time.

Mid-afternoon, I snacked on some cheese after using my second break of the day to get some fresh air again. Another 15 minutes added to my tally.

NewFoodpics 044

Then after work, I went to the gym and did a quick session of weights. I did mostly upper body and abs since I was giving my legs enough of a workout today. But before I got started, I warmed up by walking on the treadmill for 5 minutes.

Then I trekked the 17 minutes back to my car this afternoon and drove home. I was hungry so once I got home it was dinner time!

I made a turkey burger with cheese, tomato and mustard on a slice of whole wheat toast with leftover squash and zucchini from last night.

NewFoodpics 045

Then I had some chocolate for “dessert”…

NewFoodpics 046

The mini PB cup got jealous, so I had one of those too!

NewFoodpics 047

Then I did some housework, ran an errand and just got back home and found myself hungry again. I almost made a bowl of ice cream but I remembered that I’d eaten it twice already this week and I knew it would do nothing for my hunger and I had already had a sweet treat for the night.

So I had this instead!

NewFoodpics 048

1 cup of Cheerios (regular, not sweetened) with 1/2 cup of skim milk.

At least this snack has some nutrition :) And a helluva lot less sugar.

Now, as you can see, or if you did the math…I walked for 99 minutes today. That’s more than an hour and a half!

If I had started the day off saying, “I need to walk 99 minutes today” I don’t know that I would have done it. But since I thought “I need to make good use of my breaks and get away from my desk” I ended up walking that much without any pressure. I have no idea how many miles it is, but if I were to guess, I’d say at least 5, which is almost equal to 10,000 steps or the recommended daily amount to remain a healthy and fit person.

I think it is easier to look at it as a 17 minute walk here, a 15 minute walk there, 30 minutes here and so on. Looking at the whole of 99 can be overwhelming. I sort of wish I’d worn my pedometer today like I used to back in the weight loss days. That was fun…it really did inspire me to walk more.

I am tired, but no more than normal. My legs don’t feel overworked. I’m not fatigued in any way. I could get used to this.

I had so much fun with this little “experiment” that I want to see what else I can do with my time. How many pushups can I do in one day? I know I struggle doing more than a couple sets of 15 at the gym, but what if I broke it up over the course of a day? How many crunches could I do? Squats?

This could be fun…but it’s good night for now.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 27, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. fittipexchange

    so true…breaking up the workout time is a great idea! would you mind if i included this tip on my blog: FitTipExchange.wordpress.com with a link back to your blog?

  2. 99 minutes?! That is awesome girl – definitely more than I can say for myself, today!

  3. That’s really awesome that you walked for 99 minutes! I should try to incorporate more walk breaks in my day too – my body would thank me for it.

  4. Great idea for ‘sneaking’ in extra movement!

  5. I totally agree with sneaking in workouts whenever you can. A while back, I used to do 50 Jumping Jacks every hour by my desk lol…I just had to make sure no one near me ha

  1. Pingback: Squats « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

