Squats

Happy Friday everyone! Whew, thank goodness it’s the weekend ;-) I can’t wait to get it started!

You are probably wondering about the title of this post.

After yesterday’s short bursts of walking challenge that led to me completing 99 minutes of walking in one day, I wondered how well I could do that with other aspects of fitness.

So today…I tried squats.

But first, for breakfast, I had a smoothie made with skim milk, a banana and a packet of this Jay Robb whey protein powder:

NewFoodpics 049

When I bought this, I had wanted to get the brown rice protein because I had seen it recommended by so many other bloggers, like Jess, but my Whole Foods only had this and the egg white protein.

Here’s how it looked after the blend!

NewFoodpics 050

I was not that impressed…this tasted mostly like banana and not very chocolatey at all – not like Carnation Instant Breakfast. Man, I wish this tasted like that or that CIB didn’t contain Splenda. Bummer.

Anyway, it still filled me up and got me going for the day. I just won’t buy that again. Not when I’m expecting chocolate anyway.

While I was in the shower, I did 10 squats. Then when I was brushing my teeth, I did 10 more!

Mid morning at work, I snacked on some Fage 2% with almond butter. Seriously good. Maybe better with peanut butter, but certainly not bad ;-)

NewFoodpics 051

I also went back to drinking my coffee black today. I ran out of creamer a while ago and I’m coming down to the end of my milk stash with no plans to replace it (except for maybe some rice milk, I like to alternate). So I had it straight up, which is just fine by me. I’m one of those who likes the taste of coffee :)

At work, I set a goal – every time I go to the bathroom, I would do 10 squats. We have a semi-private restroom at work, so this was no problem. And since I drink water all day long, don’t you know, I did 60 squats at work!

For lunch, I had a smorgasbord of a chik’n patty with spicy mustard, carrots and cucumbers with cilantro hummus and a La Croix.

NewFoodpics 052

I also walked some today. I walked over a mile from the car, took both of my 15 minute breaks and got out for 30 minutes again at lunch time.

Mid afternoon, I drank some chamomile tea and ate a cheese snack.

NewFoodpics 053

But then I got hungry again, like majorly, so I took my second break and walked to the bookstore for a snack.

NewFoodpics 054

The choices were limited of course, but I got this bar because it only has 6 grams of sugar and contains 4g fiber and 6 protein! I also tried a new drink:

NewFoodpics 055

SoBe Lifewater 0 – Acai fruit punch. I think I’ve tried almost all of these now and this one if MY FAVORITE! I loved it. But I don’t want to drink these too much because, naturally sweetened or not, I don’t want my body to get hooked on sweet-tasting stuff again. But it worked for today.

On the way back to my car this afternoon, I took a longer way to the lot, which had me walk about a mile and a half.

So, in total, I’ve walked 101 minutes and so far, I’ve done 90 squats. I never changed my clothes, I never walked into a gym. I feel great! I’m going to do 10 more before the night is over…might as well hit an even 100 :)

For dinner, Josh and I went to Shane’s Rib Shack, which we had been to before when my family was in town from Texas. I got pretty much the same thing, only my sides were different.

NewFoodpics 056

Chopped BBQ chicken with potato salad and green beans. It was good, especially for someone who doesn’t love BBQ, but I’m completely satisfied. I gave Josh my Texas toast.

I didn’t do it this time but Josh said something about me photographing his food to show how differently we eat from each other. Would you want to see that every once in a while? It would be interesting for some of you I’m sure. We are VERY different :)

Well, I’d better go, we’re about to watch “I Love You, Man” which Courtney has declared a classic. She and I have similar tastes, so I trust her. Hope you all have fun, good night!

p.s. I’m eating ice cream soon, just so you know ;-) Once it’s outta my house though, it’s on hiatus.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 28, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh that stinks about the Jay Robb – I had sampled the vanilla but hadn’t had the chocolate yet. Sounds like maybe the chocolate isn’t as tasty as the vanilla? I’m glad I didn’t order the chocolate brown rice yet – I’ll probably order the vanilla!

    Congrats on the squats and your walking – you’re a machine! I should try the squats, that’s such a good idea since I drink so much water too!

  2. I would like to see his food sometimes too =) btw how is he doing with his eating? I remember a while back you were helping him make healthier choices.

    Check you out, Squat Sista! You are doing great!!!!!

  3. yeah! I post Andy’s food a lot of the time. I’d love to see that

  4. I think that would be a cool idea! Great idea! Let’s “SeeJoshEat”! lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

