Tofu perfection

Good evening friends!

I hope Monday has treated you well :) As I’ve mentioned in the past, I like Mondays. I mean, I’m tired as all get out, but I also feel refreshed to be starting a new week.

Breakfast this morning was a refreshing bowl of oat bran with almond butter and blueberries.

NewFoodpics 065

Mid-morning after my black coffee, I went for a 15 minute walk and came back to some cheese!

NewFoodpics 066

Then for lunch, I tried another new Kashi meal. Likely, my last for a while since I used the last coupon I had for $2 off (these babies can get expensive)!

Target had ‘em for $2.88 though, so I thought that was a good investment ;-)

NewFoodpics 067

Let me preface this by saying that I don’t usually like to eat carbs with lunch because that is usually what contributes to a 2 p.m. slump! Luckily though, that did not happen today.

NewFoodpics 068

This dish was just okay. The chicken was good and it filled me up, but I didn’t like the pasta to veggies ratio. I could’ve used some more veggies and sauce and a bit less pasta. But that’s just me.

I also didn’t care too much for the overall taste. Not compared to the other Kashi dishes I’ve tried. This one was just sort of bland.

NewFoodpics 069

But, it was a meal and I was full. I headed to Exercise Science class only to find out it had been cancelled due to lack of computer equipment or something. I was disappointed because the lecture is about exercise and metabolism but we’ll get to it on Wednesday ;-)

What to do with my lunch hour still to spare? WALK!

I took off and walked around campus, taking a couple of routes I don’t usually just to get some new scenery. I ended up walking about 3.6-ish miles in an hour. It was awesome!

Snack time…

NewFoodpics 070

Love these things. And almonds are a good source of Vitamin E, which according to self-analysis, I don’t get enough of. So yay!

I came home to make dinner and was already hungry with at least 30 minutes of cooking ahead of me so I popped in the last two Reese’s cups. THEY ARE GONE!!

For my dinner, I used this which is pretty much my new favorite thing. Nasoya, you are geniuses!

NewFoodpics 071

I think I have finally found tofu perfection. I used to get impatient and not want to press all the water out but it really is important. I start out with just two paper towels and gently press on the cubes until the towels are completely wet. Then I take 5 more and layer them on top of each other and press them onto the tofu and place another plate on top. I let it sit there an then gently press the top plate down a few times over the course of 15 minutes or so. Finally, remove those towels and take 1-2 more to press out any remaining water by hand.

Then, I think this breakthrough helped as well…bake the tofu at 425 for 20 minutes! I had been doing 375 and it just wasn’t cutting it. Thanks to whoever suggested that on allrecipes ;-)

Ta da!

NewFoodpics 072

Slightly crispy tofu seasoned with canola oil, cumin, garlic powder and sesame seeds (with ketchup for dipping) and a side of vegetables (broccoli, snap peas, carrots, mushrooms). Perfect!

I think next time though, I will use Josh’s “Slap Yo Mama” hot seasoning because I like it spicy. The cumin was a bit smoky but not really hot.

It’s not even 8 yet but I’ve already had dessert (I’m planning an early bed time):

NewFoodpics 073

Only a few more servings left. I’m actually starting to get tired of it after toinght, so I doubt I will eat any more. Hopefully I can get Josh interested…it is his favorite flavor, hehe.

Good night all!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 31, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow you still have ice cream left! Ferris Bueller you’re my hero! Hehe

    I need to start cooking tofu….when I buy some, I will need you to give some recipes =)…something HHHHOT =)

  2. I love Kashi meals but haven’t tried that one. Sad that it’s disappointing in flavor :(

    Tofu? That is something I’ve never eaten (well, had bits of it here and there chopped up in food I bought/ordered at a restaurant maybe) but perhaps should try. What made you try tofu?

    • That is a good question! I think it was probably because at more than one point in my life I tried to be a vegetarian ;-) But I’d also eaten tofu in dishes at restaurants and wondered if I could replicate it at home. I love that there are so many different kinds and it can be used in so many ways, like in stir frys, casseroles, desserts, or just by itself. Good luck if you do try it!

  3. I need to get my hands on the cubed tofu!! I’m sure I can find it at some grocery store around here. :)

    I would be honored if you experimented in my “Vegan Venture” month with me. :) Let me know any time that you experiment, I’m excited to see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

