That’s not vegan

Wow, you guys, I am simply amazed at how hard it is to eat vegan-ly. I haven’t gone full blown yet but I have spent the past couple of days observing the ingredients in some of the things I eat and hardly anything is vegan! It’s amazing what sneaks into some products.

Breakfast this morning was my very last Holey Donut, Banana Cream Pie. I remember not caring much for this one the first time around but I must’ve heated it right this time because the banana insides were so creamy and delicious. Unfortunately, as I read on their website, this filling has HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP. Bad, bad, bad.

NewFoodpics 087

NewFoodpics 088

On the side I had a Morningstar Farms sausage patty (so not vegan, contains lots of milk ingredients) and some strawberries.

NewFoodpics 086

Sadly, after two strawberries, they just didn’t taste good so I threw the rest away :( I don’t know if it was just that it didn’t go with what I was eating, if they were too sweet (and I’m not used to it anymore), or what. Sad though.

My walk this morning was great though. The 15 minutes really starts to fly by when you make it a habit. When I got back I munched on these, which Kashi so graciously sent me last week :)

d67dc84dfcb0__1251999756000

These were so good! Not vegan but good. Haha. They reminded me of a cereal I’d had before but I couldn’t quite place it. Anyone know? I want to say Honeycombs or something like that, but I never ate those so that can’t be it. Thanks Kashi!

I would probably buy these myself depending on how far I take this vegan thing. Obviously not too far yet ;-)

For lunch, I had a “let’s use up what’s in the fridge” salad of romaine lettuce, cucumbers and pinto beans. Doesn’t sound like much but it tasted good and held me quite a while too.

9e8de95ca3be__1251999723000

On my afternoon walk, I remembered this picture I took last week of an albino squirrel on campus. They are actually pretty common (on campus) but I hadn’t seen one in a while and I know a lot of you haven’t so I tried to get a good pic with my camera phone!

albino squirrel

He was closer to me but he kept running away from the crazy lady with the phone, haha.

For my snack, I had some more almonds.

3df84b8f610f__1251999663000

Then I went to a meeting, left work and hit the gym for a quick 30 minute workout. I did upper body (chest, shoulders, biceps, triceps) weights, abs, and legs getting in two sets of every exercise. It was quick and simple but I definitely felt it when I was leaving!

Dinner was another “throw together what’s left in the fridge” meal…can you tell it’s almost grocery shopping day, and we’re going out of town next weekend!

NewFoodpics 089

This is leftover barley, mixed stir fry veggies, spaghetti sauce and Morningstar Farms veggie crumbles (the only non-vegan ingredient). I’ve made a dish similar to this before and it looks and sounds disgusting to some, but it’s so good.

I’ve successfully used up a lot of stuff in our freezer and refrigerator, yay!

After dinner had settled, I met my friend Candy for a walk at the park. It is such a cool, cloudy evening, perfect walking weather. We went three times around the track which is 3 miles, in about 45 minutes!

When I got home, I was thinking of “desserts” but what I really wanted was a “snack” and my body was telling me banana and PB, so I listened and put down the dark chocolate.

NewFoodpics 091

I’m 110% satisfied and content. It’s amazing what listening to your body does and giving it what it really wants and not what you think you should be having. I wish I could do this every time, but I will cherish this one ;-)

I also drank two big ol’ glasses of water because this girl was thirsty!

Time to start settling down for the night. Hooray, tomorrow is Friday and the looong weekend can begin. Have a good one everybody!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 3, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, Dinner, Lunch, products, reviews, Snacks, Walking, weight training, workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have found that recipe books by Isa Chandra Moskowitz have really helped me! The recipes I have tried taste awesome and all vegan :-)

  2. I am going to second that recommendation, too. The Post Punk Kitchen and Veganomicon are both great cookbooks!

  3. I think these two work best for me:

    Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat eggs, milk and milk products, such as cheese and yogurt, in addition to plant-based foods. They omit red meat, fish and poultry.

    Flexitarians (semivegetarians) primarily follow a plant-based diet but occasionally eat small amounts of meat, poultry or fish

    I have to look for that Kashi Cereal!

    • Yeah, I think you would like the cereal! Before this experiment, I definitely fit into the Flexitarian category. I still am but I’m hoping to gradually try out the vegan thing. Nothing with me is ever permanent (when it comes to food, haha) so we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

