Cold and flu season

Good evening everyone! Thank you for your comments on my previous post on how I got back on track. I appreciate all of you guys! :)

I hope this post finds you having a glorious day and in the best of health.

Over here in our household, we have a sick dude. Josh is coming down with a cold or something, his sinuses are a mess and he’s feeling icky and  lethargic. I hope he feels better soon. But I’m kind of avoiding him so I don’t get the germs.

I haven’t had a cold or any illness since August 2008 and I don’t want to break that streak. I thought I was coming down with something about a month ago, but I fought it off.

In the spirit of cold and flu season, I got my flu shot today!

NewFoodpics 118

Complete with a Tweety bird band-aid. Ha ha! I look kind of scary though.

My work offers flu shots for free, so I jumped at the chance. I guess I have been getting flu shots every year for the last 5 or 6 years. I got the flu a couple times as a kid and once as a teenager and it was miserable enough to convince me I had to do it!

I am not sure yet if I will get the H1N1 shot, if it is even available to me. It’s just so new, I’m afraid of what could go wrong. Hmm…

Do you get a flu shot? Why or why not?

For breakfast this morning, I fueled up on something that has been missing from my diet for quite some time…THE GREEN MONSTER!

NewFoodpics 111

This GM contained: 1 cup of unsweetened original Almond Breeze, 2 big handfuls of spinach, 1 frozen & chopped banana, and 1 tbsp of peanut butter. Yum yum. Oh, how I had missed these ;-)

NewFoodpics 112

Mid morning, I ate some nuts and then took a short walk (to get my shot).

NewFoodpics 113

Lunch was some delicious leftover chickpea curry, which might have been even better today!

NewFoodpics 114

NewFoodpics 115

After lunch, I had my usual tea and dark chocolate. Then I went to go take my first Exercise Science exam, eek. I think I did ok, but I could’ve done better. Oh well, something to improve on!

NewFoodpics 116

For my afternoon snack, I had some Stonyfield O’Soy yogurt (small package from the 6-pack) with some Ezekiel golden flax cereal on top.

NewFoodpics 117 

I chose the small containers because I got 6 for $1.99! Plus this little bitty thing already has 13 grams of sugar, wow.

It was tasty though and I’m comfortable with including it in my diet for now :)

After work, I hit the gym hoping to get in a run but all the treadmills were taken! I guess that is a good problem though. At least people are using them.

I ended up doing 30 minutes on the elliptical and it definitely gave me a run for my money! Afterwards, I stretched for almost 15 minutes and it felt so good to take the time and really take care of my body.

When I got home, I was so hungry, so I snacked on some more nuts (no picture). Then I got to work on dinner.

Josh and I had some red potatoes at a cookout on Labor Day and ever since then I’ve been craving them and he was open to trying them at home :)

I drizzled 1 tbsp of canola oil and sprinkled salt and pepper on top of the potatoes.

I had a hard time figuring out the cooking part. I cooked them in the oven at 425 for nearly 30 minutes but they weren’t quite done so I ended up microwaving them for a few out of impatience.

But once they were done, they were good!

NewFoodpics 119

In typical Josh and Sarah fashion, he had chicken and I had tofu.

NewFoodpics 120

My plate when it was all finally finished!

NewFoodpics 121

Afterward, I had a piece of dark chocolate.

NewFoodpics 122

I’m off to watch “Dancing with the Stars” which is not a show I usually watch but I have to this season because Chuck Liddell is on! He is one of my favorite UFC fights. I just watched his first dance and it wasn’t too bad…I hope he can hang on a few more weeks :)

Aaron Carter looks good too, he was looking a bit rough there a couple years back, I’m glad he seems to have gotten himself together. It was cool to see the old Backstreet Boys in the crowd too!

I better get back to the tv. I also have a cup of peppermint tea in my future.

Good night all!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 21, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks, tv shows, workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. hahaha I totally thought of you when I saw that Chuck Liddell was on Dancing with the Stars!

  2. Ha I love that picture of you. I don’t normally get a flu shot but I think this year, I will be…I am also hesitant about getting the new shot.

    I am not a curry girl but that chickpea dish always looks so good. The only curry I eat is when I go to my favorite Jamaican restaurant and get the Curry Goat Roti yuuuuuuuuums

    Thanks for ayer!!!!!!!

  3. As I was debating whether or not to get the flu shot, I got the flu! Then I passed it to David so he’s suffering now. Even still, I don’t think I’d get the shot. I work so hard to do everything naturally- and since the flu probably won’t kill me, I’ll skip the shot.

    Nice band-aid :)

  4. Chuck was the only reason I was watching DWTS this season also. I’m a Huge fan of the UFC! Team Hughes! :-)

  1. Pingback: Technical TV difficulties « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

