Mind over matter

Tuesday night, I mentioned that I wanted to go for a run in the morning, since I knew it was unlikely that I’d be able to “fit it in” later in the day with my schedule the way it was.

The night before, I laid out my clothes and packed my lunch so I would save time in the morning.

004

Like my Cartman tooth fairy in the background? Ha ha.

When I went to sleep that night, I thought there was no way I was going to be able to get up and do it. Or if I did get up, it would be raining. You know, excuses.

Well, I DID IT! I got out the door, warmed up, ran the course I had planned out in my head, and then cooled down for a total of 25 minutes (and around 2 miles total). All before breakfast!

Speaking of which, a green monster has never tasted so good…cheers!

005

It felt so good to start the day off that way. Might have to keep this up?

Mid-morning I snacked on some soy yogurt and Ezekiel cereal. Starting to become old news ;-)

006

Lunch was leftover falafel and red potatoes. Finally zee red potatoes are finished :)

007

008

009

Mid-afternoon, I snacked on some carrots and hummus. I had some tea too but no chocolate today. See, not everything has to be everyday :)

010

Wednesday is usually the highlight of my week because it is when us girls get together for a girl’s night potluck dinner. This week, Courtney had the main dish and she made an amazing looking baked ziti!

011

And Aleta brought some amazing looking warm bread :)

012

And I brought broccoli, hehe. Figures.

Since I’m not really eating dairy these days (I haven’t really told anyone yet unless they happen to read this since I’m still experimenting), I peeled back the cheese a bit and scooped out some pasta.

015

It was delicious, as was the bread that I went back and got another piece of!

014

Lots of carbs stuffed me and made me a little bloated. I remember now why I don’t usually eat much pasta. But everything tasted great!

Dessert didn’t thrill me too much. First, this was a sour cream Angel food cake which tells me it is not vegan (which I knew already). And I think it would’ve been better with something on it?

017

I probably should’ve just passed on it but I gave it a try anyway for some reason. Oh well, hopefully dessert night next week will be better.

It was a really good night with the girls too. We watched the “Dancing with the Stars” results show and thank goodness, Chuck Liddell is going to be around another week!

We also watched that new show “Glee” which was pretty cute. But I’m trying not to pick up any new shows. I think I could actually live without television most of the time ;-)

I have another long post coming up of today’s activities, so don’t go too far!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 24, 2009, in Breakfast, dairy, Dessert, Lunch, potluck, running, Snacks, workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How did I miss this post lol….Do you eat anything before you do a morning workout???

    I never did in the past but then you hear all these things about how you NEED to eat before a workout to rev up your metabolism blah blah so I started to have 1/2 a Banana but then I have LMM when I am done and Breakfast when I get to work and before I know it, I already consumed around 500-600 Calories and it’s not even 10 am! Gasp

    • I judge by how I feel when I wake up. That particular day, no, I did not feel hungry when I woke up so I just drank some water before I went out. If I wake up starving, I would definitely eat a small snack before exercising as not to get light headed and such. Sometimes if I know ahead of time I am going to do a morning workout, I will eat a little more at dinner the night before or a snack after dinner that will keep me from being too hungry in the a.m. But sometimes you just can’t predict what your body will feel like ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

