Decisions, decisions

Happy National Hug a Vegetarian Day! If you have a veggie friend, give ‘em a nice squeeze today and if you are a veggie, ask for them :)

I’m still feeling a bit under the weather today but not too bad. I’m taking the day off from exercise, staying hydrated and also drinking some really great herbal tea called Gypsy Cold Care from Traditional Medicinals. I swear that brand is the best stuff ever. It was what made me realize back in August of 2008 (the last time I was sick!) that I didn’t benefit from cold medicine at all (it actually makes me feel worse) and that lots of hot tea and vitamin C were what worked for me (for a cold anyway). So, I’m hoping if this is just a cold trying to come on, it will be true again.

So onto what this post is REALLY about.

Today I made an official decision…I am going to, officially, 100% start eating a vegan diet on October 1st. This is not going to be a one month challenge as September sort of has been. I’m hoping to keep it this way for good. I’ve been told by some that I “will never go back” once I really start and I can see how that would be true.

I mean, really…I don’t like meat and it makes me constipated and feeling run down. But I thought I had to eat it for protein. Dairy makes me bloated and gives me gas. But I thought I had to eat and drink it for calcium and Vitamin D. Eggs never fill me up when I eat them for breakfast which is rare anyway. So really, this is not a hard sacrifice to make. It makes so much sense, I can’t believe I never fully realized it before. Now that I have the knowledge and the tools, I can do this the right way.

I know many people make this decision based on animal cruelty and unethical practices of the various industries, and I totally appreciate that. While it is not my #1 motivation, I am glad that by choosing this diet, I’ll be aiding somehow in that fight as well.

What will be a challenge and a sacrifice is continuing to check labels and research products and restaurants to make sure they can accomodate me. I’m actually having dinner at Taco Bell tonight, which in the past would’ve sounded completely gross to me and I’ve turned my nose up at it to my husband several times (sorry honey). But, I recently read the “Food Facts” (under the Our Food tab) statements on the Taco Bell website and also found some options on this Vegan Eating Out website too.

I’ll also have to let my girls in on the news so we can plan our Wednesday night potlucks accordingly. I don’t expect everyone to change everything for me, so I know there may be times when I have to peel the cheese off or skip dessert and that is okay with me. I don’t want to inconvenience anyone. Luckily, our friend Margie is a vegetarian so our meals are always meat free :)

Anyway, this is my decision and I know why I am doing it. This way of eating is not for everyone. What matters is that you find what works best for you and not to settle for anything you think you “have” to do.

Happy Friday :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 25, 2009, in challenges, changes, rest, restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I’m proud of you! You are making this decision for yourself and for no one else. That’s all that matters. I have wanted to change my diet so many times after reading blogs but I had to stop myself and decide what was right for me.

    Can’t wait to read about your progress!

  2. WOW I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!! I know that you will do great and your body will thank you for making these changes….

    Ha I am having TB tonight too!!!! We really ARE too much alike!

    • Haha! That is too funny girl. Josh about died when I told him where I wanted to go. I never go to TB but now that I know I have some options it helps, plus it saves us money because we can easily spend $20-30 going to any other restaurant for dinner!

  3. I seriouly love Taco Bell….but my mom just mentioned she is off today and I remember her saying that she wanted to go to Ikea which means Chipotle! either way I am having some Mexican food in my belly!

  4. Good luck Sarah! I might be emailing you for support during October! I did fine in January when Erin & I went vegan for a month, but even being vegetarian is hard for me. To illustrate my point, I’ve eaten strictly vegan today and I’m craving a slice of cheese in the worst way.

  5. You go girl! I’m so interested to see how your new lifestyle works with your hubby being “not-vegan”. This is something I have wondered about, how my family and I can co-eat on 2 different diet outlooks. Good luck!

    • It should be interesting, that is for sure! But honestly, since I got “healthy” we have eaten quite differently. I’m more worried about when we have children, but that is still a little while off, so I have time to figure that out ;-)

  6. I hope you have a good experience with veganism! It goes back and forth between being easy and hard. For me it’s easy 90% of the time, it’s just that other 10% when I have no control over what families are eating/ preparing, when we go out to steakhouses/ BBQs that have some of the least vegan-friendly options. So basically it’s fine except when you have minimal control over a situation and then have to basically just refrain from everything or eat a lettuce leaf…lol I get cranky in those moments.

    Let me know if you have any thoughts or questions! I’d be glad to share everything I know. :)

    • Thanks Lindsey! You are absolutely right…when I am in control, it is so easy. But when it is up to others, it becomes more of a challenge. As long as the easy outweighs the hard though, I’m sure I will be okay. Thanks for the support, I’m sure I will be calling on you before long!

  7. Congratulations on your decision! I am sure that you won’t regret it!

  1. Pingback: So excited « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Day 3 – Coming out « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: DOMS and Vegan Week « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: 4 months of vegan « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: What I’m giving up for Lent « See Sarah Eat

  6. Pingback: Calories revisited « See Sarah Eat

  7. Pingback: Happy Herbivore’s Vegan Corndogs « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

