My new life

Good morning and Happy October 1st!

I have never been this excited about October before, that I can recall. It really feels like Fall now and there’s just something about pumpkin, warm drinks and staying cozy under the covers that just warms my heart. I really don’t like cold weather (winter, ugh) but I like being warm during the day and just a bit chilly at night :)

Today is also the first day of Vegan MoFo III, which I have decided to participate in.

3930562108_f07c8dec17

I have been giving a lot of thought over the past month or so as to whether I can really call myself a vegan. I read again, in another book, that people who only adopt the dietary changes are really just strict vegetarians and not vegans. Vegans are people who’s entire lifestyle reflects a stance against cruelty, not just their diets. Especially since my diet is first of all health-motivated, I just wasn’t sure where I fit. Or if I even had to.

But, I have found that through the past month of experimenting with this way of eating and doing the research, that I do, in general, strive to be more peaceful. Eating this way has made me more aware of some other things, not just about food, but about my body. For instance, I am very sensitive to stress.

Even if I don’t necessarily feel “stressed out” I do sometimes have some internal things going on. This has made me more aware of my mental health and I’ve been identifying the things I can do to keep things positive. I am seeing more clearly now and I know what situations, people, and things stress me so I’m going to be working on finding ways to deal with that.

I’ve already started by “hiding” some of my friends on Facebook who are constantly writing negative things either about themselves, politics, other people or whatever. I don’t want to censor anyone, but if it’s bringing me down, I don’t want to read it. I even find that there are sometimes songs and tv shows that I used to watch but don’t want to anymore because they stress me out.

My overwhelming desire for peace is…well, overwhelming. My husband probably thinks I’ve lost my mind for real this time.

I have also felt more of a desire to help people, something I have always enjoyed doing but have been seriously slacking off with lately. I want to find my place of ministry in my church and perhaps do some volunteer work again. I also want to do some random acts of kindness and not tell you about any of them because it’s not about me or puffing myself up. It’s about making a difference in someone else’s life without getting any credit — that is what I want.

I’ve also felt closer to God recently, which may have nothing to do with this whole eating experiment, but I do think it comes from being intentional and making small sacrifices. I have been praying more and more and want to find a regular Bible study to get involved with because I haven’t been in one in a long time. I am thirsty for more!

So this month is about so much to me. I know it will spill over into November, December and next year, but here are the things I am going to focus on more this month (I will expand on all of these later and give you updates):

  1. Eating a plant-based, animal-free diet (no meat, dairy, eggs, etc.) – essentially only vegan foods
  2. Exercising for health, fun, stress relief, and peace of mind — not to run myself down or to “undo” over eating
  3. Listening to my body and resting when I need to rest
  4. Creating peace and harmony in my daily life through prayer, meditation, and relaxation
  5. Eliminating or reducing things in my life that cause me stress
  6. Focus more on serving others through volunteering or random acts of kindness and favors
  7. Start ministering to people in my church in an area I feel passionate about
  8. Stay close to God and find a Bible study to participate in

I’m so excited…I had no idea when I started writing this post that it would turn into all of this. Wow.

To get this month started, I ate a healthy animal-free breakfast of oats (cooked in water) with a sliced banana and peanut butter.

00413

Happy Thursday!

What are your goals for this month?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 1, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, changes, diets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Wow I want to swim in your positive energy! it is literally bouncing off my computer screen =)

    I know what you mean about trying to be more at peace and blocking out negative energy. Sometimes I “screen” my phone calls because I know the person who is calling is just going to be very negative and I don’t really want that energy surrounding me. I always say out loud “Oh I don’t want your negativity today” and press ignore lol

    Oatmeal with water is not bad at all, that is how I always eat it and I think the PB makes it better… pb makes everything better ha

    My goal for this month is to be the best ME possible. I know that sounds generic and cliché but it’s truly how I feel.

    I need to eat better
    Do more yoga/pilates
    Try to cut out carbs a little more
    Not skip out on my morning workouts
    Try to stay positive even when all I want to do is lay on the couch and eat a gallon of ice cream ha

  2. Loving the peace and positivity – there’s not enough of it in the world.
    Good luck with your goals and Happy Mofo’ing. :)

  3. Sometimes the best posts are the ones we DON’T plan. This was beautiful and full of hope, Sarah. It seems to me that God has captured your attention and re-captured your heart!

    Thank you. You never fail to make me smile and give me peace about my crazy life! ;-) You go, Girl! I’m very proud of you! Love ya!

  4. Good for you Sarah! Those are great goals. I think you will have a great month!

    My goals are to be happy with myself. One of the biggest things for me to work on is loving myself enough to lose weight, start running and being healthier over all!

  5. This is fantastic and so inspiring! I’m excited to see where this month takes you!

  1. Pingback: Day 25: The Final Stretch « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: But don’t you miss…? « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: 4 months of vegan « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: 6 months « See Sarah Eat

  6. Pingback: Earth Balance and Fakin’ Bacon « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

