Day 5 : Back to “normal”

Check out Ms. Jessica’s giveaway of Tropical Traditions coconut oil!

Today was Monday, which meant back to work and the start of a new week! But it is also the first day that I have felt back to “normal” after being sick a little over a week ago and then having my period right after.

Since both can mess with your appetite, cravings, etc. I am glad they are both outta here :)

Breakfast this morning was pumpkin oats. I used the last of my pumpkin can so I won’t be having these for a while. They were good but I still can’t figure out what’s missing. Perhaps my tastes have changed?

003

This bowl contained 1/3 cup oats (cooked with water), 1/3 cup pumpkin, a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice and some Skippy Natural PB.

Mid-morning, I enjoyed some new tea the in-laws gave me:

004

And some mixed nuts to snack on.

005

For lunch, I had some leftover black beans and barley, which I wasn’t too thrilled about at first, but I found some salsa in the fridge which I think gave it the perfect touch. I ended up really enjoying it!

006

I got back to Exercise Science class after missing last week, so that was good to get caught up. I’m really enjoying everything I am learning in this class but I’m starting to think I won’t be able to stick through getting another 4 year degree (I already have 2).

So I’m thinking after this semester I may just get my personal training certification and then go back to school later if time (and money) permits. I really want to get to work!

After class, we had a baby shower for a co-worker who is so cute it’s ridiculous. I’m so happy for her. There was also some good food. I just snacked on some tortilla chips and salsa (plus more chips).

007

I knew I had to get a run in sometime today and it was going to have to be after work. Luckily, I hopped on Twitter and saw a few others who had either gone for runs or needed to. So that inspired me to get it done!

I did one of my favorite paths near my neighborhood with no time in mind. After I was done, I came back in and looked it all up on Map My Run.

It says I did 2.85 miles in 25 minutes! That’s an average of 8:46/mile! Holy smokes. I’m not sure how accurate that is but I’ll take it.

My time also isn’t exact. I left the house at 6:03 p.m. and reached the front door again at 6:28. So it’s a guesstimate. I even walked for a few minutes including a warm up and cool down so I was quite impressed with that.

I do think I am getting faster, as my 1-mile runs with Farrah have proven. I texted her after this run to tell her I wanted to go fast again tomorrow but she wisely told me to wait and see how I feel tomorrow. Ha ha.

After the run, I did lots of stretching including pigeon pose to keep my hips from getting tight and lots of downward facing dogs. I love yoga.

For dinner, I made some baked tofu which I am now confident in keeping in my diet for the time being. Thanks again to those of you who commented on my soy question in a previous post. I really appreciate the feedback.

008

I’ve decided I’m a big fan of mixed veggies. It’s just the right combo of starchy and green. I think I just like mixes in general instead of just having one veggie on the side.

I’m currently watching “Dancing with the Stars” hoping my man Chuck Liddell makes in another week!

I also snacked on this and perhaps a bit more PB :)

009

I think I will have some tea and call it a night soon. Hope you had a great Monday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Breakfast, classes, Dinner, Lunch, running, Snacks, tea, websites, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a good day of eats And a fabulous run =)

    I seriously want a bite of that PB and Chocolate Chip Sammie lol

  2. You did go for that run – and you were FAST! Good job! I ended up doing an exercise video but I thank you for the motivation!

  3. So glad to hear you’re feeling better and more normal! And awesome job with the run :)

    I need to get pumpkin for my oats! I know in mine I always add tons of cinnamon and vanilla… maybe that’s what’s missing?

  4. Great run, Sarah! Under 9 minute miles is AWESOME!! I need to work on my stretching after my runs. I’m pretty lazy about it. Well, I pretty much never do it :-S

    I’m glad your week of torture is over. Although one form will probably find you once a month, I hope the other doesn’t find you the rest of the winter. Hey, maybe you got it out of the way early! ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

