Day 8: Marching on

I have to admit to you guys that I was a little bummed yesterday. I think I had unknowingly put a lot of pressure on myself, so I was really disappointed not only when I made the mistake with the soup mix, but also letting my eating habits get a bit out of control again. But thanks to your sweet comments and my affirmations about what makes us eat when we aren’t hungry, I ended the day on a major high note :)

Even though it wasn’t totally vegan, last night’s dinner was really good. The soup tasted great and the bread that Courtney bought was amazing!

Picture 017

It is the Viennese (?) all natural freshly baked bread from Meijer. I checked the ingredients and what do you know…it is all natural and vegan to boot. That made me happy :) I ate a couple more pieces than what you see there.

Also, for dessert, my sweet friend Margie brought some So Delicious non-dairy “ice cream” in Chocolate Velvet. Which is EXACTLY what it tasted like.

So yummy. I would definitely eat this again but I have a feeling it would be dangerous in my house ;-) It also didn’t “mess” with my stomach the way dairy ice cream used to.

Picture 018

For our entertainment of the evening, we watched the movie “Amelie” which I had NEVER seen and it came out in 2001 I think. Anyway, I love the French language and culture so I thoroughly enjoyed it. I took several semesters of French in college but have sort of “lost” it over the years. But last night I decided I could probably “get it back” just by watching lots of French movies.

Any recommendations?

~

This morning, I started the day off with some PB&J oats, which I had been thinking about doing for a while but the final push came after seeing them featured on Eating Bender.

Picture 019

I liked the taste but I think I used way too much Simply Fruit and perhaps would leave out the banana next time. But still a good, filling breakfast :)

Right now, I am snacking on some nuts and trying to get more work done today. I’m definitely feeling more motivated than yesterday!

Picture 020

For lunch today, I have leftover soup and bread…YUM! And my legs are still hurting so I am thankful that today I planned a weight training workout. Let’s work on the upper body and abs only please!

Cool things to read today:

Have a great Thursday…it’s almost Friday! :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 8, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. OHHH I LOVE LOVE LOVE AMELIE! I think that movie started my Gnome obsession ha

    That was nice of your friend Margie to bring Non-Dairy “Ice cream”… very thoughtful on her end.

    I never thought of adding Jam to my Oats…hmmm something new to try and I also think I want to add Spinach too lol. Thanks for giving me new ideas to spice up my eats. You are the one that started my Green Monster affair ha

    • Yes! I can’t wait to try green oats, Heather promises it’s just like a green monster, you can’t taste the spin. Jam in the oats was good, I just need to nix the banana, it made it too sweet. Haha, the Gnome! I thought that was so sweet :) I think I might have to buy that movie now.

      Margie has been a vegetarian for years, so I think she understands how it feels to need special accomodations sometimes. It was pretty awesome of her though :)

  2. Keep marching girl, you can do it! I was starving last night after a huge dinner and kept away from the bad stuff……though I did have some nuts to hold me over.

    =) Laura @ Finding A Healthy Balance (after a 100 POUND weight loss)

    http://www.findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com

  3. That bread looked de-lish! I want a slice (or two)!

    Thanks for posting the Alicia Silverstone article, I too will peruse it on my next visit to the bookstore.

  4. Awww I’m glad you’re feeling much better :) don’t beat yourself up girl! Sometimes when I get frustrated with myself I forget to breathe and then when I do take a deep breathe its like the weight of the world is gone :)

    Def gotta try some pb&j oats soon :)

  5. Hi in Louisville! Thanks for stopping by the foodblog. I have gotten to love food blogging and cooking ( I have loved for a while) – and now teaming them with healthy living.

  6. I read your post from yesterday and just want to say that I’m glad you are feeling better. Your affirmations were very helpful to me, too.

    WOOHOO! Thanks for the shout out on PB&J oatmeal. It rocks my world. I’m sorry it was a bit sweet for you but definitely try it again – it’s worth the effort because once you find the perfect balance, it’s addictive ;)

  7. I loved Amelie! Such a cute movie.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

