Day 10: On the road

Saturday started off in a very good way with some yummy PB&J oats that were perfected this time around. With some Starbucks Columbian VIA to compliment.

015

I used a bit less jelly this time and no banana (which I saved for lunch). I love how the peanut butter just melted all over the top, then I stirred it together a bit. YUM!

016

Not long after, we hit the road to visit Josh’s grandma a few hours away. On the way there, I managed to get a grocery list together, using quite a few recipes from Vegan Planet. I can’t wait to cook this week!

For lunch, I had a peanut butter (no jelly!) sandwich and a banana.

017

We stopped at a gas station before heading back home and I got to post another Operation Beautiful note!

018

This was in a very small town so I’m hoping everyone hears about it ;-)

I snacked on a surprise find at the gas station!

019

Josh found some supposedly hotter than Hot Tamales which we don’t have at home, he was excited!

020

I tried a few too but they just didn’t seem hotter. He’s trying to convince me that he needs to do a side-by-side test, which means buying more Hot Tamales. Yeah right! Ha ha.

When we got home, I grabbed some Panera for dinner because I had yet to go to the grocery store.

021

I had 1/2 a Classic cafe salad, cup of black bean soup and a whole grain baguette. Yum! I love it when I make black bean soup day, I have missed it so many times before. :)

After dinner, I went to the store, well stores, and I had major success. On the road, I wrote out all the ingredients for the few recipes I chose to make this week and went to three different stores but I managed to get a ton of stuff and stay well within budget (actually $5 under)!

Check this out:

022

  • Bananas (a ton, I’m making soft serve this week!)
  • Carrots
  • Avocado
  • Green pepper
  • Red onion
  • Bagged salad
  • Peanuts
  • Rice milk
  • Hummus
  • Spices
  • Soy yogurt
  • Pumpkin
  • Black and great northern beans
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Black olives
  • Celery
  • Sweet potato
  • Whole wheat tortillas

I got all of that plus everything Josh needed for $45. I rule! And I’m glad I don’t have to eat PB&J every day this week again ;-)

After all that shopping (two plus hours) I was hungry again, so I snacked on my current fave…with a twist.

023

1/2 a whole wheat tortilla with PB and chocolate chips. Folded in half, woo hoo!

Next up, Day 11. I can’t believe I’ve officially been a vegan for 11 days.

I love it, it feels so natural to me. It has been a challenge at times but not one that I can’t manage. I feel so good in all aspects of my body and mind. I think I might just have to keep this up ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 11, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, diets, Dinner, Lunch, restaurants, shopping, Snacks, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Looks like a good shopping trip. :) I wonder if you have any advice for shopping with a budget of $25 ($30 max) a week.

  2. Proud of you, Sarah, for sticking with it for 11 days. I have no doubt that you will continue to do what is best for your body. Yay YOU!

    How do you do the grocery thing UNDER budget?! Geez, I can’t even get out of Walmart for less than $100 and STILL have to go to the local grocery store occasionally for stuff I forgot! I guess if I was more dedicated to list-making and then sticking to my list, I would have more success, ;-)

  3. $45 ????? You need to teach me master!

  4. this is awesome Sarah! You are doing great with being a vegan.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

