Day 12: Getting into the groove

Happy Monday everyone! That’s right, I said HAPPY!

I know most people usually dread Mondays but I’m loving them (I actually find Tuesday to be more brutal). It’s the start of a new week and time to start something new, whether it be a fitness goal or cooking up some new recipes!

Something funny to start off the day…I forgot to weigh in! I had no expectations for this week really but I usually do it anyway, just to “check in” with myself. Oops! Oh well.

Breakfast was oats with banana and peanut butter. I chose to put half the banana in while it was cooking and then the other half as a topper. Mmm…

 NewFoodpics 136

I drove to work today, so I parked my car the 1+ mile away from my building and walked in the cold! It was 45 this morning but I wasn’t making excuses to be lazy ;-)

Snack this morning was some plain ol’ peanuts. Hooray for good fats!

NewFoodpics 137

I also went for a chilly 15-minute walk on my break, which actually ended up warming me up a bit :)

Lunch was leftover Tuscan Beans with sage and garlic. Plus some carrots and hummus on the side for more bulk.

NewFoodpics 138

I used a new kind of hummus this time. I got this on sale for $2.50 at Meijer.

NewFoodpics 135

But I probably won’t get it again. It was okay but nothing near the flavor of Sabra or other kinds I have had – which are only a few cents more expensive. Worth it though!

For my afternoon snack, I had a Silk yogurt in strawberry banana. It was pretty good but a bit too sweet. I want to try some other non-dairy yogurts soon.

NewFoodpics 139

I had to walk the 1+ mile back to my car this afternoon, but thankfully it was much warmer :) I was planning to run or do yoga when I got home but in the end, I just didn’t feel like it.

I walked a lot today and that is enough!

For dinner, I made another recipe straight out of Vegan Planet!!

NewFoodpics 141

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas!

NewFoodpics 140

It took some extra time and preparation, but I wasn’t in a hurry so I really took my time and followed the recipe exactly (except cut in half).

I had some topping leftover, so I decided to bake it on top of the enchiladas. Getting ready to go into the oven:

NewFoodpics 142

My plate…two enchiladas and lots of topping. The salsa I used was pretty spicy so this dish was exploding with flavor!

NewFoodpics 143

There were literally chunks of sweet potato in every bite. I love this combination!

NewFoodpics 144

Apparently, I hated them, ha ha ha…

NewFoodpics 145

I have to say, as a person who previously enjoyed Mexican food with lots of cheese and sour cream…I don’t miss them AT ALL! In fact, I think they would’ve ruined the flavors of this dish.

As I was packing up the leftovers, I ate some right off the spatula! ;-)

NewFoodpics 146

I can’t wait to pick out my recipes for next week. Who knew this could be so fun and actually save me money too! I guess I did, somewhere in the back of my mind.

Off to watch Dancing with the Stars! Chuck went first and I totally used all my votes on him already, but I cried when Melissa Joan Hart got her scores from the judges, she was fantastic!

What has gotten into me? Ha ha.

Good night my dear friends! God bless.

p.s. Check me out on Caitlin’s Operation Beautiful site today!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 13, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m not a fan of that type of hummus either – I prefer homemade anymore actually! Yum!

  2. Those Enchiladas from Vegan Planet are excellent, I make those a lot in the colder months.

    You should definitely make your own hummus. It’s do much better, and you can make so many fantastic flavor combos. Plus, it’s a lot cheaper to make your own.

  3. ohhh are you going to post the recipe for the enchilada? I would love to make it

    • I would, but I don’t think I can since it is copyright of the cookbook. I can tell you the ingredients were sweet potato, black beans, canned diced tomatoes (I used the ones with chiles), salsa, red onion, chili powder, salt + pepper and tortillas.

  4. OR you can email me! ha

  5. Yummy that enchilada looks fantastic! Once I tried pureed butter nut squash as a filling for enchiladas; I’m pretty sure it would have been good if I got my cooking times right!
    I eat ‘SO Delicious’ dairy-free yogurt, and I love it. Not too sweet, not too sour, maybe you’d like it!

  1. Pingback: Day 13: Walking fool « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

