Day 24: Nigella and Banana pancakes

I love Nigella Lawson!

I could just listen to her talk (I’m a sucker for accents) and make chocolate all day.

She’s so gorgeous and even though I eat vegan now, I still like watching her cook. I only catch her show if I’m up early on a Saturday, like today!

I did my own cooking this morning, thanks to another great recipe from Vegan Planet…Spiced Banana Pancakes!

001

I accidentally blended all the bananas instead of half, so I didn’t have any huge banana pieces in them, oh well.

003

004

Instead of making the entire batch this morning, I decided to make what I wanted and then put the rest of the batter in the fridge for tomorrow (plus another day too I’m sure)!

007

I also tried a new product for my coffee today. I got this sample from Mimic Creme a while back but had yet to try it.

002

I had originally wanted to try it because I thought it was a coffee creamer but when I saw everything on the box it came in, I was thinking I must’ve been wrong.

But then I saw a couple other bloggers use it as a coffee creamer, so I said what the heck :)

005

A lot like soy milk, it sort of “separates” so I had to stir it again about half way through drinking it. It doesn’t have much flavor but it does make my coffee “creamier” so I will have to experiment with some flavors now.

Breakfast was delicious!

008

These were so moist and dense (I used half whole wheat flour) and I gasp when I say “I liked these better than the pumpkin pie pancakes!” They are that good.

Suzie is watching TV while I blog. She’s still a little sleepy.

006

I can’t wait to get this day started. First, I’m off to the grocery store(s) but I’m not sure which ones yet. I kind of want to go to Whole Foods just to do some price comparing. So I think I will start there.

Then after lunch, Court and I are going Halloween “shopping” as I’m not really dressing up this year but it is fun to look at all the crazy stuff at the stores and try on wigs and hats.

She’s been going through a rough time lately, so our goal for the day is just to relax and be silly! Expect lots of pics later.

Then tonight is the UFC pay per view. So it’s going to be a loooong night at Buffalo Wild Wings. As many of you know, they have NO vegan options (boo) so I will have to eat before I leave home (and sneak a snack in my purse perhaps).

We are currently researching other places to go watch it in the future.

Hope you have an excellent Saturday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 24, 2009, in Breakfast, products, recipes, reviews, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Not sure if you know this, but MimicCreme does have a coffee creamer that comes in a smaller box. It will not separate in coffee and it is also unsweetened. I think the sweetened one is bascially an ice cream base and a base for sweetened sauces. I have been lucky enough to be able to try the coffee creamer and it is really good.

  2. Does Whole Foods really require any price comparisons? Hehe. I do always find good deals in their bulk bins. Cheapest oat groats and millet I can find. I also hear their kabocha is on sale right now. Run, don’t walk. :)

    MimicCream makes an unsweetened creamer: http://www.mimiccreme.com/unsweetened.html. That’s the one I tried, and it didn’t separate as much. Plus, it made awesome Alfredo sauce.

    Enjoy your day and have fun watching the game tonight. Sneak in some food – that’s what big purses are for. ;)

  3. the dreaded separation! this is actually the vegan milk curdling and I find that if I let the coffee cool a little then it doesn’t happen. I generally use a french press, which has a lower temp than a drip coffee maker by the time I get around to drinking it.

  4. I love your beagle. She is beyond cute!

  5. I LOVE Suzie, she is so cute!

  6. I LOVE Nigella – she is awesome to watch cook. Those pancakes look delicious.

  7. I love Nigella Lawson. She seems to really enjoy eating, not just cooking.

    I have that 4 cup measuring cup with the lid that you used to store your pancake batter, and it’s one of my favorite kitchen items. I use it for everything.

  8. I have to try making those pancakes!

  9. Is that a Pampered Chef bowl I see?! I use mine all the time, they are great for fridge-storing.

  10. better than pumpkin pancakes? I guess I’ll haaave to try them!

  11. Aw, Suzie’s adorable. I love beagles. :)

    Spiced banana pancakes sound amazing!

  1. Pingback: Day 30: Get up and give away « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

