Day 27.2: Bookends

Hey guys!

Well, as I mentioned in my last post, I left my camera at home today so all I have for you is the meals I had at home today…breakfast and dinner. The beginning and the end :)

001

I tried a new dish for breakfast today. I took a page from Mama Pea’s book and microwaved a chopped apple for 1 minute. Then I added 1/2 cup of Ezekiel golden flax cereal, 1/2 cup rice milk and 1/2 tbsp peanut butter.

It was pretty tasty but for some reason this did not hold me over very well. And by some reason, I mean the fact that it isn’t oatmeal. This would be good on a smaller scale for a snack though maybe.

The rest of the day was not much to write home about except for the massive amount of tortilla chips I ate at work! I swear, if there is one food I am defenseless against, it is those salty crunchy buggers.

After work, I hit the gym for a 2 mile run (indoors, boo rain) and some upper body weights and abs. I was less than motivated earlier in the day but once I got started and finished the workout, I felt GREAT.

For dinner, I made an old favorite: Chickpea Curry!

002

I used water this time instead of soy milk and I added 1 cup chopped frozen (thawed) spinach and 1/4 white onion chopped. Plus some garlic and of course, a massive amount of curry paste!

When I got home, I had snacked on some bread already, so when it came time to eat dinner, I wasn’t as hungry, so I had a small portion with the rest of the bread. I can’t believe Josh and I finished off the loaf in one day (it was mostly me I’m sure)!

003

Yummy!

005

For dessert, I had a So Delicious “ice cream” sandwich. It was even better than last Wednesday, I think because I let it thaw a bit ;-)

009

Confession Time…I HATE DISHES!

I mean, look at the how terrible I let things get before I break down and do them.

006

Wow, that is embarrassing!

I’m posting that picture to shame myself into keeping up with the dishes. Perhaps that can be a November goal?

Josh, for his part, empties the dishwasher every day so there really is no excuse (other than I hate it). I tried to make it more exciting for myself by getting this natural dish soap!

008

What household chore do you hate?

I also took some time out yesterday to enjoy the flowers :) This pic came in handy on a nasty rainy day like today!

008

Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 27, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, products, running, workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I hate doing the dishes too. My sink looks exactly like that right now. I always make Andy do the dishes!!!

  2. Oh my, the chickpea curry looks fabulous! I love chickpeas, and love curry… will have to give it a show.

    And the dishes (!!). Everyone has their thing they detest, mine would definitely be hanging up or folding and putting away my clothes. I don’t know why, this is my absolute worst habit. Tonight I did good though, I did laundry and put every last sock away immediately upon returning home from the laundromat.

    I would suggest ditching your dishwasher and tackling your dishes as you use them, in the sink! When I had a dishwasher, my kitchen looked exactly like that because you can never load it up with *everything* at once.

    • Thanks Laura! I have honestly been thinking about washing them by hand as I use them, I just need to get something to sit them on to dry! :) Our dishwasher is old and doesn’t do a very good job anyway, another reason I hate doing them.

  3. Oh my – I would come round and do your dishes for you ‘cos I love washing up!!That curry looks delicious – have you ever tried the one from VwaV? It is my favourite!

  4. My least favorite chore is folding and putting clean laundry away. Don’t mind washing it, but hate the rest.

    I don’t mind dishes at all, but it took me a while to find a good method, and one that doesn’t waste too much water. So, here’s what I do………

    Things that go in the dishwasher, get put there immediately after use (no rinsing, just scrape the chunks off and put it in the machine). I fill the sink with HOT water after breakfast, add a little dish soap and a touch of white vinegar. Stick the breakfast dishes that can’t go in the dishwasher in the sink to soak. At lunch add one kettle of boiling water to the water already in the sink, and wash up all breakfast and lunch dishes. Drain and clean the sink.

    Before preparing dinner, fill the sink again with HOT water, soap and vinegar. Again, things that go in the dishwasher go there immediately, then everything else I wash as I go since there’s already water in the sink (ie, I use a wooden spoon to stir, I wash, rinse, and set to dry…use a measuring spoon, wash, rinse and set to dry). After dinner all there is to wash are the final pots that were used.

    Everything stay clean, and it’s much nicer to cook in a clean kitchen.

  5. Your chickpea curry looks amazing! YUM.

    I hate doing dishes too. My hub and I have a dishwasher but don’t use, kind of a waste of water in my opinion.

    I hate doing laundry.. BLAH!

  6. I’m drooling over your food!

    And holy dishes!!

  7. Love the new blog look! Very snazzy!

    Your chickpea curry looks soooooo yummy. And perfect fall comfort food, too. Beware, more rain heading your way today and tomorrow :-( Boooo.

    HAHA, your sink pic made me laugh! That’s impressive, girl! :-)

  8. OMG! is that really how you leave the dishes??? I would have a panic attack lol…

    The chore I hate the most is cleaning the bathroom! FO

  9. I hate folding the laundry! I can not stand to see one single dish in the sink. My boyfriend thinks i’m insane because as soon as I get home I always do the dishes. That picture of the sink really made me laugh.

  10. I sending over the Dish Wand to make that sink overload dish-appear.

  11. Oh that’s an inspiring way of cooking chickpeas !! I have lots lots of them in the pantry ! ur recipe resolved my storage problem! :-D

  1. Pingback: Day 28: I hate fasting! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

