Vegan potato soup

I had main course at our girl’s night potluck this week and since I had a lot of potatoes to use up, I decided potato soup would be an awesome meal!

But since I had never tried making it before, I went immediately to google to find “Vegan Potato Soup.” After scrolling through a few recipes, I finally found one that sounded easy enough and which I had most ingredients for already (which is my criteria when searching recipes by the way).

Behold, the Vegan Potato Soup recipe from Daily Veggie with my own modifications.

Picture 080

Ingredients

  • 5 medium sized, washed, peeled and diced potatoes
  • 1/2¬†medium-sized onion, diced
  • A few green onions, chopped
  • 2 tsps pre-minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 3 cups of water
  • 2 cups of light plain soy milk
  • 2 tbsps whole wheat flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste

This was the first time I could remember using my vegetable peeler to peel potatoes and it worked quite well!

Picture 081

Directions

Start my sauteeing oil, onions and garlic in the pot.

Picture 082

After a few minutes, add the potatoes, salt + pepper and water.

Picture 083

Let it cook for 10-15 minutes until the potatoes become soft. Then add the soy milk and flour, stirring well so that they mix. Let simmer for another 15-20 minutes, until the soup appears “creamy” and ready to eat. Add more salt and pepper if desired.

Picture 085

I thought this soup tasted pretty good. It had a great consistency and the potatoes were chunky and soft. My only complaint is that it was a bit on the bland side, so I’d like to see what spices or seasonings I could add to this to improve upon that.

I think everyone liked it though…no leftovers!

Picture 086

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 5, 2009, in Dinner, recipes, soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. mmmmmmm – bet that tasted good :-)

    I’ve just posted all about fats (good and bad) if you want to check it out:

    http://jonnygetsfit.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/nutrition-what-i-know-so-far-part-2-fats/

  2. yuuuuuuuuuums that looks so good…I need a friend like you in NYC, that will cook yummy (and healthy) dishes for me

  3. I lllooovvveeee me some potato soup! It looks especially good because I am freezing at the moment. Yummy! Maybe for dinner ;-)

  4. I love it! Potato soup is one of my favorites but sometimes all the dairy in it bothers my stomach. This would be a great alternative for me.

  5. WOw, super recipe.. this looks delish! What a great meal for a cold fall night!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

