Groceries, avocado, wine

I did a major grocery shop today and managed to spend just $45! Including…

001

Most of the above is Josh’s, save the Larabars and huge can of pumpkin :)

And…

002

I love buying fresh veggies as opposed to frozen. They just have so much more flavor and now that I re-discovered my steamer, I look forward to making them this week!

I went to three stores today: Meijer, Kroger and ValuMarket, after I studied their ads online to see who had what on sale. Josh remarked that soon we won’t have to have as tight of a budget (his car is almost paid off), but I said that would not change my “style” of shopping.

I still plan to be on a budget and shop for the best stuff for the best price, I just may be able to splurge on a high priced item every now and then ;-)

For dinner tonight, I made another strange use of an avocado :)

007

I cooked up a serving of coucous and stirred in some green onions (chopped) and a slice avocado, then topped it all with salsa. It looked good, sounded weird, but tasted amazing.

I had my dinner with some vino!

006

I got this bottle at Meijer for $4 and I had never heard of the brand before so I couldn’t wait to try it!

003

The color was a very dark red and it tasted a lot like Shiraz to me. Pretty light and crisp for a red. But I’m no wine expert ;-) I pretty much drink it all!

004

005

You may have noticed my blogging has been sort of random lately.

I decided that for now, I’m just going to write about the “new” stuff in my day instead of making this a really boring food journal. So sorry if you really wanted to know what I had for lunch today, ha ha.

Luckily, I’m constantly trying new foods, combinations or recipes so it should be easy to keep it going for a while. We’ll just see where it goes.

I’m sorry to see this beautiful weekend come to an end but it’s time to get back to the normal routine and I’ve got to plan out a really awesome strength routine for tomorrow!

Good night everyone :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 8, 2009, in Dinner, shopping, wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. That sounds like a very random din din…but hey if it works, go with it =)

    btw I love that I can see your reflection in the wine bottle and wine glass ha

    I miss your eats…it keeps me motivated =)

    • I will most likely be doing that again before long, I’m just sort of going with the flow. I felt like I was eating the same thing every day and I got bored writing about it, ha ha. Hopefully things will get more exciting again soon ;-)

  2. $45?! That’s awesome! Go you! And I had to chuckle at the beef jerky and flaming hot cheetos in your pic…now I KNOW those are yours ;-) LOL

    Oh and I seem to be a member of the kingdom of random blogging, Welcome! Have a great week, friend!

  3. Looks like a great variety of food for $45. I can’t believe how expensive food shopping can be! I only blog randomly, so I’m looking forward to reading the highlights.

    I was wondering if you will maintain your vegan lifestyle and if you have seen any major fluctuations in weight since you have done so.

    • Thanks for asking! I would like to keep going on the vegan lifestyle, but I’m just sort of taking it month by month. It is really easy for me to stick to so I don’t see why not. I’ve noticed major differences in my health, energy and overall well-being. And no, no major fluctuations in weight. I’ve pretty much maintained this whole time (within a 3 lb range).

  4. girl you scored some serious loot! and for only 45 buckaroons! sounds like a deal to me :)

    glad you had such a great weekend! cado+salsa sound like the PEFECT match to me :)

  5. You should just blog about a 1,001 different dishes to enjoy an avocado. You are great at finding a way to make it the highlight of your meals!! :)

  6. That’s quite a load of stuff for $45! My boyfriend eats meat too, and though we don’t live together right now, he have shared space in the past and I remember having to buy meat stuff. I’m really hoping to make him vegan one day…but he’s stubborn.

    The couscous dish looks tasty, and I’m all for any wine that’s $4!

  7. Wow, I’m totally impressed with your grocery-shopping savvy! You must have your strategy down pat!

  1. Pingback: Sharing a vegan dinner « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

