Vegan Chocolate Applesauce Cake

The kind folks from Musselman’s sent me some of their applesauce to incorporate into a dish for my family to enjoy during the holidays.

I’m going to try out a few recipes until I find the best one, but I started things off with dessert!

011

One of my favorite uses for applesauce, besides eating it right out of the jar, is in cake recipes in place of oil and eggs. Especially now that I eat a vegan diet.

I used this recipe from About.com but made a few substitutions based on the ingredients I had on hand. I also used half the sugar the recipe called for, which I normally do as a rule.

010

012

The recipe called for the mixture to be poured into a Bundt pan but I kind of wish I had used a different one because it did not “rise” as much as I thought it would.

013

The end result was pretty good, but I think I over cooked it a bit (going to shoot for 45 minutes next time).

003

I also think this would taste a lot better with some icing, going to have to search for recipes on that! But I will say this, peanut butter works too ;-)

002

Overall though, this was a decent recipe and the applesauce was a good substitute to keep the cake lower in fat and calories. Plus I think my family would enjoy it too (and not even know it was vegan, ha ha).

I can’t wait to try another one :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 15, 2009, in Dessert, products, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love all the things you create…I wish I had a slice of cake =)

  2. That cake looks delicious! I love using applesauce in baking, it really helps to cut down on fat without sacrificing flavor or moisture. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

