Mama Pea’s chickpeas

I am a huge fan of chickpeas and until I saw this recipe for Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas on Mama Pea’s blog (one of my favorites), I had never even thought of roasting them in the oven!

I prepared the recipe per her instructions, only change was using 1 tbsp of syrup instead of 2.

I love how the recipe called for stuff I already had in the pantry, the only thing I had to buy was apple cider vinegar, which I had already been meaning to get for a while.

017

Then I got them ready to go into the oven.

019

I also cut up and roasted some fresh cauliflower to go with it, continuing my fascination with cooking fresh veggies instead of from frozen.

018

Verdict?

022

Warm, crisp and delicious. A nice change from my usual plain chickpeas or chickpea curry. Plus the spices were tasty too!

021

Mmm, couscous. Josh has never tried it before and he keeps asking me “Is it rice?” I’m going to have to buy him some ;-)

On my cauliflower I used a little bit of Smart Balance Light, which I mentioned in a previous post is vegan! See…

004

005

I was really glad to find this out because Earth Balance is a bit more expensive. But I’d still like to try it some day.

Speaking of Josh up there, he has been going to the gym consistently for a little over 2 weeks now and he continues to ask for my input when it comes to his eating habits.

He has lost 8 lbs!!!

I’m so proud of him. I know he will keep it up and eventually get to his optimal state of health. Way to go hubby :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 17, 2009, in Dinner, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. cookingforaveganlover

    pumpkin spiced??? that sounds so crazy good!

  2. Im a huge roasted chickpea fan.. this looks super. Honestly, a dish I would gobble up in no time!!!

  3. That’s awesome for your husband! :)

    Those chickpeas look fantastic.

  4. Yum those chickpeas look awesome!

  5. Can you believe that I never tried Cous Cous lol…

  6. I love roasted chickpeas, and I bet this pumpkin-y spice combo is delicious. I’ve only ever had them roasted with tamari.

    Fresh veggies are the best! I used to buy frozen everything, but now I only eat fresh because it tastes so much better…and Smart Balance Light is delicious for spreading on stuff. I’ve had some problems using it in baking though.

  7. This is like my 4th or 5th time seeing these infamous chickpeas! I need to bake up a batch myself. :)

    And congrats to Josh! 8lbs is a big deal!

  8. I am a big fan of chickpeas too!! I normally have them in hummus, but thanks for the recipe, I guess roasted version rocks too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

