My heart is changing

Within the first five minutes of watching “Food, Inc.” I was in tears. But I feel like before I can do a full review of the movie, I should watch it again. That’s the beautiful thing about owning it on DVD :)

My vegan friends on Twitter also alerted me to the movie Earthlings so I need to watch that too, although I’ve heard that will be difficult, emotionally.

For breakfast yesterday, I had an old favorite:

001

002

Oh it was so good to have oat bran again. I love my oats but I prefer oat bran. Something about the texture or something. Check out this post I did on the two a while back.

After breakfast, I went mall walking with my aunts and did 3 laps  3.6 miles. I had wanted to do more but I thought I had a long day of errands and I didn’t want to wear myself out early.

But then the day got crazy! Josh broke his glasses and they were his spare pair so we had to make an emergency trip to get some new ones which took a few hours out of the day.

I have to say though, his new glasses are HOT. Wish I had a pic for ya ;-)

Thankfully I had snacked on some nuts before we left home but when it was time for lunch, I was starving! We went to McAlister’s Deli where I got the veggie with no cheese or dressing and some regular Sun Chips.

A couple hours later though, I was hungry again so I broke out a new purchase from the store on Friday:

003

Finally! It was on sale for $3.99 which is still more than I like to spend but it’s usually almost $6 so I knew it was a good time to try it out. With some peanut butter of course.

 

004

Really good! Not as good as the English muffins, but hey, what is?

Last night, at our church, we had a Thanksgiving Missions Banquet. Everyone brings Thanksgiving-type food in massive amounts and we get to hear a program about the missionaries from our church and the work they are doing. It was quite a night!

I made a salad for my table consisting of romaine lettuce, carrots, and red, orange and yellow peppers. I also made my own salad dressing for the first time: a homemade vinaigrette!

Somehow I managed not to photograph any of that :(

But here is my dinner plate:

005

It wasn’t perfect but I did the best I could. I don’t know if the sweet potatoes had butter on them but it didn’t taste like it. The green beans and corn were fine, but the stuffing may have contained a meat broth (since my friend Beth told me she had the hardest time finding one at the store that didn’t). Also not sure about the rolls, they may have contained eggs and/or dairy.

I sort of felt bad at first for compromising my diet a little bit. Of course it made my life a little easier, but it also frustrated me that I couldn’t have done better. It honestly made me feel a little guilty, especially after seeing that movie.

But I’m not perfect and I’m still new at this, so I kept that in mind and enjoyed my night.

I skipped on dessert since I knew there were no vegan options, but my mom sure did have a beautiful birthday cake…Happy Birthday Mom!

006

I did have a cup of decaf though :) And a slice of cinnamon toast with PB and chocolate chips later in the night.

We headed home after the banquet to watch the UFC pay per view at our house. Thank goodness, one of my fighters FINALLY won. The losing streak has ended at last!!

Last night was sort of practice for Thanksgiving for me. I didn’t realize how much there is to consider. Vegetarian is easy, just don’t eat the meat. But when you think that stuffing has meat broth, mashed potatoes have milk (and sometimes butter), desserts have eggs and dairy. Yikes.

Whatever your diet may be, how are you going to handle Thanksgiving? Are you looking forward to it or is it making you anxious?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 22, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, restaurants, Snacks, Walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. If Food Inc. made you cry, than you are going to bawl when you watch Earthlings (at least I did). It is totally worth watching though, as difficult as it may be to sit through.
    It is always stressful to worry about your diet when you are not in control what goes in to the food for Thanksgiving. I usually do all of the cooking so I never have to worry that I am eating something with hidden dairy or chicken broth in it. I posted some ideas and tips for a veg-friendly Thanksgiving on my blog if you want to check it out. :)

  2. Chickie you shouldn’t feel guilty…you are a doing a great job!

    I have not seen that movie but I am sure it would bring me to tears. I saw some of Peta’s footage on animal cruelty and I was a mess.

    I am actually looking forward to Thanksgiving! I just hope that this year, I can stick to portions!!!!!

  3. Check out my examiner page, I wrote an article on surviving Thanksgiving.

  4. I’m so looking forward to Thanksgiving! I’m going to handle it with a lot of yoga breathing and daily exercise!

    Food, Inc definitely affected me very much too. I teared up throughout the story of the Mom with the son (won’t tell too much in case people haven’t seen it), but you know what I mean! So awful. I have been veggie since seeing that movie.

  5. I’m glad we don’t even do Thanksgiving in Australia – Christmas will be challenging enough!

    Good on you with your efforts! I certainly can’t even think about watching Earthlings, I have a hard enough time just knowing what goes on and coping with my imagination. No way can I watch it. I was interested in seeing Food Inc though – maybe not anymore! I don’t need any more encouragement to remain vegan.

    • Even though there are a few disturbing moments, it is a good movie to see if you are interested in the questionable ethics of the meat industry and other interesting facts about the evolution of the food industry. And if you know people who aren’t vegetarian or don’t know where their food comes from, have them watch it.

  1. Pingback: December 2008 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

