Perfect day

I had a yummy bowl of microwave oats this morning!

008 

This bowl contained oats, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, a tsp of pancake syrup, and topped with peanut butter and chocolate chips. Perfect.

I ran out of regular coffee at home (still have decaf) but I had recently bought some Stash chai green tea, so I had that instead of coffee. I used to do this a lot more in the past so I think I’ll get back to it.

For lunch, we celebrated mom’s birthday with the family at Calistoga Cafe. You might remember my last visit there. It’s a good place, a lot like Panera but with it’s own uniqueness.

I got the Monterey Veggie wrap (with no feta) with a pickle and some chips. It was yummy and filling!

lunch1122

After lunch, we went with my parents and grandmother to a local theatre to see this very amazing and touching locally-produced movie called “The Perfect Gift” which was the perfect movie for me to see going into this holiday season.

As a Christian, this movie meant a lot to me, but I also think that regardless of your beliefs, it would be a good movie to see because the overall message is that we need to put the love back in Christmas. So go check it out if you are in the area.

During the movie, I ate some Twizzlers ;-)

It took me forever to settle down and finally make dinner. Since I was so indecisive, I snacked on a carrot + hummus while I pondered.

010

Eventually, I got started on making Mama Pea’s black bean burgers, substituting a few ingredients based on what I had on hand.

I also cut the recipe in half to make 2 burgers since I’m the only one eating them (I saved the other one for lunch this week).

011

The last of my couscous :( It’s okay though, I bought a ginormous bag of brown rice this weekend!

I also had some salad with hummus aka the perfect salad dressing.

012

After dinner, I had my second viewing of “Food, Inc” so I’ll be doing a post on that soon. I swear, I could watch that movie over and over and get something different out of it every time.

For a snack, I had my last 1.5 pieces of cinnamon chip bread with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

013

And tea!

014

Hope you all had a great weekend. Mine was pretty perfect. But I’m ready to start a new week! It’s a short one too, only two days of work, woo hoo!

What are your plans for Thanksgiving? Is it at your house, nearby or do you have to travel out of town?

I’m so glad we’ll be staying in town this year, having dinner with my in-laws. We’ve been together for 10 years, married for 4, and this will be the first holiday we’ve celebrated with them on the actual day. :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 22, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, movies, products, recipes, restaurants, Snacks, thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I LOVE black bean burgers. Aren’t the awesome?!?!?!

  2. Looking forward to your review!
    For the Holiday, my boyfriend and I have two back-to-back dinners to attend. My parents first, then his parents. My ‘rents celebration is small and quiet and his fam’s is a loud and raucous (and hilarious) time! Can’t wait.

  3. LOVE black bean burgers.. and your toast looks incredibly scrumptious!!

    Thanksgiving will be spent in NC with just my hub. Too far to travel home just for a few days off!

  4. Yay for short weeks! I will be traveling which means waking up at 4:30am on Thanksgiving morning….yuck!

  5. I can’t wait for Thanksgiving! thankfully it is local and I just have to drive a few blocks to my mom’s house =)

  6. Hummus + Carrots = Best Snack Ever! I’m actually having that in about an hour before I hit the gym. As for Thanksgiving, this will be the first year my boyfriend (of 5 years) will be spending with my family … that’s fun!

  7. That is what I get at CC – unless I’m there for breakfast. I love hummus and carrots – right now I’m eating carrots and mustard.
    I’m going to try those black bean burgers as well! I just had some black beans on my salad!

  8. oh. that innamon chip bread with peanut butter and chocolate chips looks so tasty…..I want a slice too! !! :D

  1. Pingback: Short work week « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Bunch of geniuses « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

