Short work week

I can’t believe Monday is already over and I only have to work one more day this week, woo hoo! Sorry for those of you who have to work more than that though. I’ve been there.

Breakfast this morning was oat bran (cooked with water) with peanut butter and a sliced banana. Simple and delicious.

001

It was also quite filling! My mom took me to Starbucks this morning (becoming a Monday tradition!) and all I could bring myself to drink was a black coffee. But I really enjoyed it, which got me thinking…that is how I prefer it ;-)

Mid-morning I snacked on some carrots + hummus, always a good thing.

002

Good snack, bad picture.

Then for lunch, I tried another soup from Dr. McDougall’s!

003

I was pretty impressed at how much soup this was, my bowl almost wasn’t big enough!

005

This was my favorite one so far! Look at all the veggies:

004

I would definitely get this one again! Lots of veggies with barley and lentils mixed in. Pretty filling too.

I snacked on a grapefruit after Exercise Science class which was very interesting today, all about overtraining.

007

I normally don’t eat this much fruit in a day but my mom gave me this a while back and I wanted to eat it before it went bad. It was delicious!

I also had a second snack later in the afternoon which was like a homemade trail mix with mixed nuts and raisins. I think next time I’ll add a few chocolate chips too (sorry no pic).

After work, I hit the gym for a quick upper body training session. It was one of those days when I only had 30 minutes to work out and I could’ve easily just blown it off but instead I made due with what time I had!

  • Warm up: 5 minutes walking on the treadmill
  • Chest presses: 20# dumbbells, 1×12, 1×8, 1×8
  • Military shoulder presses: 15# dumbbells, 1×10, 1×8, 1×8
  • Bicep curls: 15# dumbbells, 1×12, 1×10, 1×12
  • Tricep extensions: 20# dumbbell (1), 1×12, 1×8, 1×8

For dinner,  I had a repeat of last night’s black bean burger only this time I had a potato and salad with it (sorry no pic again, I was lazy today).

After I ate, my friend Candy came over for a walk. We did 3.3 miles, which I know for a fact thanks to Map My Run, a really great website for mapping distances.

How do you determine distances? Do you use a website, a Garmin, pedometer, etc?

I was feeling pretty hungry tonight so I snacked on two slices of Ezekiel 7 grain bread with peanut butter and chocolate chips. I’m good now!

Hope you had a good Monday friends :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 23, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks, Walking, websites, weight training, workouts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. oh i’m lovin your starbreezies monday tradition! very fun :) i lurrrv my starbucks coffee black..well with sugar free hazelnut mmmm mmm!

    nice run girl :) enjoy your night!

  2. I only run on the treadmill, so it tells me how far I go!

    I am in love with a good, black coffee! Nothing like it!

  3. Yummy… your breakfast looks so good. Anything with peanut butter and banana can’t be bad!

  4. I am slowly starting to love black coffee more and more. Each time I get coffee I add a little less half and half.

  5. mmm that soup looks so good. :)

    i like my coffee black too. mm i love starbucks runs!

  6. I use to do Starbuck’s Friday lol…

    what a great day of eats and workouts…I get jealous of how healthy you eat sometimes lol…but you only push me to work harder so this Thanksgiving I am thankful for “meeting” you =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

