Oh, what a night

Last night’s girls potluck got off to a rough start.

While something was reheating in the oven, it caught on fire! Luckily, we were able to call the fire department, Court broke the glass to get the fire extinguisher out, and I put the fire out.

And he didn’t go down without a fight, but we were able to get the cat in his carrier to take him outside and away from the fumes.

It was crazy for a while but we were all grateful no one got hurt (just a few scratches) and there wasn’t much damage to the home, only a mess to clean up. The oven got the worst of it.

Since the main dinner course was covered in extinguisher dust, we ended up going out to eat at Penn Station. I got the artichoke sandwich with added mushrooms and no cheese and some fresh cut fries (the best).

001

Luckily dessert survived and we greatly enjoyed it when we got back from dinner!

006

These are Chocolate Crescent Wraps :)

It was a practice recipe that I made to get ready for the FoodBuzz and Pepperidge Farm 1,2,3 Puff Pastry contest that I have to make an original recipe for. I’m still trying to figure that out but in the mean time, these were a hit!

I got the puff pastry sheets with a free coupon from FoodBuzz and once it was thawed, I cut it into triangles.

004

Then I laid on the chocolate chips (I used regular since I didn’t have mini).

005

I spread a little Smart Balance light on the rolls instead of using the egg mixture the recipe called for.

Just a little time in the oven and voila! They were yummy.

007

It was a crazy night indeed but we feel lucky that things didn’t go much worse, which they could have. I also think it sort of made us all come together and help each other out a bit, which is exactly what Thanksgiving is all about.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 26, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, products, recipes, restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. WoW! I’m so glad everyone is ok… that is some scary stuff! Those cresent wraps looks so simple and delicious :)

  2. ooh these look yummy :) I’ll have to give them a try!!

  1. Pingback: A different kind of Thanksgiving « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Fireproof « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Snacky Sunday « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

