A different kind of Thanksgiving

Hello friends! I hope you all enjoyed your Thanksgiving :)

Before we left for my in-laws house, I did the 33 minute Yoga Sculpt program on Exercise TV after hearing Caitlin rave about it. It was insane! I was shaking and sweaty by the end of it.

I’d started this one before but gave up on it, but since Josh was in the same room, I think I made myself finish it this time :)

After that workout, I needed a snack to refuel!

001

Then it was time to head out for dinner!

I didn’t take any pictures at dinner because it was a pretty special time and I didn’t want to spoil the moment and be like “Hey, care if I take pictures?”

But here’s what I had for dinner:

  • A delicious three bean salad made by my stepmother-in-law
  • Corn
  • Asparagus
  • Broccoli
  • Mashed potatoes (which were made special for me without milk or butter!)
  • 2 little rolls that I spread with my own Smart Balance Light
  • Cranberry sauce

I stopped eating when I was full and the food was put away after we ate so it was nice to not even have the temptation there.

We watched some football and at one point everyone (but me) was asleep! See what happens when you don’t eat turkey? Ha ha.

Several hours later, we finally had dessert. I brought my leftover Chocolate Crescent Wraps from Wednesday night.

This Thanksgiving was unlike any other I have ever experienced. It was the first one I’ve celebrated with my in-laws, my first one as a vegan, the first one I can remember that I did not eat too much or feel like taking a huge nap afterward.

In other words, while Thanksgiving was a special time with family, when it came to everything else, it was just an ordinary day. That’s what I liked most about it.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 27, 2009, in Dinner, holidays, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. awww sounds like you had a great turkey day :) glad to hear it girl! enjoy your weekend

  2. Wow great job chickie…this was a huge success =)

  1. Pingback: First Vegan Christmas « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: 4 months of vegan « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: First Vegan Superbowl « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

